1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin password problems (no, it's not that i've forgotten it)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by whitterquick, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. whitterquick

    whitterquick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hey, Chris here. Long time Belkin user, first time complainer.

    To cut a long story short, for no apparent reason my brother's laptop, although connected to the router, stopped recieving the internetz. He had full strength signal, neither of us had changed any settings to either the laptop or the router.

    I really had no idea where to even start, so i took a random stab in the dark and updated the firmware (from 1.0.17 to 1.0.23). This has seemingly fixed the issue (of course before i updated the firmware i restarted both the laptop and the router, checked the settings to see if anything had changed etc etc)

    Now, a couple of weeks ago i found that my password for the router had suddenly stopped working. I don't access it often, but i have a good and easy to remember (for me) passwording system. When i went to update the firmware it asked for my password, so i had to hard reset the router.

    The default password for Belkin is no password. So once i had reset the router i was able to log in with no password, update the firmware etc. But i want a password on the router. So i go to the system setting, which has the customary 'current', 'new' and 'retype' password boxes. I left the first blank (obviously) and typed the same password into the other two. When i hit 'apply' however, it says 'invalid old password entered'.

    This, of course, is absurd, as i just used the blank password to login to the damn thing. I have logged out and back in twice more just to make sure, but to no avail. It still insists i am entering a wrong password. Any suggestions?

    Also of note: Both the internet light on the router itself and the internet status message in the router settings show that it's not connected to the internet, where as quite clearly i am.

    The model is: N+ Wireless Modem Router (F5D8635-4A)

    If you are able to shed any light on this for me i promise to send you a fun link.
     
  2. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    We still cannot help with passwords, for any reason, read the Site Rules., sorry.

    Welcome to TSG forums.



    .
     
  3. whitterquick

    whitterquick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Well, it's not exactly help with passwords. It's a question about the password software. Does that still count?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,832
    First Name:
    Terry
    This particular problem is fine to discuss here; but thanks for being cautious, Mumbodog.

    Just for fun, for the old password try the one you used before the reset to factory default settings.

    My only other suggestion is to try another reset to factory default settings. You should do that as a matter of habit after a firmware update and I'm not sure if you did.

    If a reset to factory defaults doesn't clear all the issues I think you will soon be exercising Belkin's lifetime warranty.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    what browser are you using to connect to the router

    I have seen this behaviour with IE8 but it works perfectly in Firefox

    try just putting cursor into old password box, skipping past it doesn't read a null but having inserted cursor & then moving out again does ( don't ask me why but is does)
     
  6. warrior19

    warrior19

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    984
  7. warrior19

    warrior19

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Admit different Belkin router...Same Issue!
     
  8. whitterquick

    whitterquick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Firstly: Yes i tried with my old password, but unfortunately it gave me the same message. I also tried 'admin', 'blank', 'password' and 'sihdsdsl' (<-- just for fun/venting).

    Secondly: Ah brilliant, yeah it seems someone else on that belkin review page had the same problem. So thanks for the link! They fixed it by updating the firmware, the very thing which seemed to cause my problem in the first place. So i guess i'll take the advice of rolling back the firmware, see if that helps at all. It's a little late now so i'll give it a spin tomorrow and see how it goes, will of course keep you updated.

    Many thanks for your helpful advice! Goodnight!

    Edit: Oh and yeah i'm using Firefox, and i tried putting the cursor in the textbox. I even typed something and deleted it... :(
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/895579

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice