1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin Router 02 problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by paulhughes, Jun 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I have a problem with my belkin router whereby the internet stops working and all internet applications like my online gaming stop working. However my wireless displays working properly.

    If i use belkins network utility it displays wireless network working and internet to router displays off.

    I solve the problem by going to my router page and commanding my router to restart.

    Before I used the Belkin router I used the 02 router that came with my package and i got the same problem though much less frequently. This time i solved it by repairing my wireless connection [windows option].

    This does not work with the belkin and I have to restart the router.

    Paul
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sounds like you have a conflict with windows wireless and belkin software do you have them both running
    also you may have other wireles networks interfering and changing channels on the router may help, use 1 or 6 or 11
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Welcome to TSG:
    Are there any other pc's using this router?
    Wireless or wired ?
    Are they affected also ?
    What wireless utilities do you have running?
    Belkin and wireless zero config(Windows default for XP)
    More thean one can produce wireless conflicts.


    I would do the simple things first
    Change the wireless channel you are using (1/6/11) in the US
    Download and install any more current firmware for your router.
    Do a router reset.Hold the reset button in for at least 15 seconds.

    Do the above in that order.

    If no joy there,we will need some more diagnostic info from you.
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi Etaf:You type really fast.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) - not always :( at least consistant advice
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Consistent and good :(
     
  7. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hey there again,

    Been working so ain't been able to reply.

    I done all that you said pedroguy and I also disabled the Belkin wireless utility from the common startup so windows only runs its own utility.

    Edit: I also changed the wireless channel.

    The thing is there are zero networks that my card can see because I live in a building where the nearest neighbor is at least 50 metres away. So I do not think it is network interference.

    Another thing is that the wireless connection never fails as I can always get to the routers home page. The reason I think it might be something to do with the wireless is that I got the same problem with the previous wireless router.

    What other information would you guys require?

    It is the only PC currently on the network.

    Paul
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's assemble all the information to understand your layout and try a few diagnostic tests to see where the issue lies.



    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    OK:Just to be clear.When we say wireless interference,it means wireless interference between you and the router (cordless phones and other wires that may be in the wall between you and the router).

    So,have you downloaded any more current firmware for the router.?
    Have you done a router reset?
    In that order..

    You might also consider downloading and installing any more current wireless adapter drivers from the pc maker's website.
    Have you hardwired the laptop/pc directly to the modem to see if you still have the problem? A modem power on reset would be necessary for any modem change.Power off for at least 30 seconds.
    What we might like to see is the networking environment from the pc when you have the problem(no wireless access ). Like so

    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address> For addresses,follow instructions below&#8230;.

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING www.yahoo.com
    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. IPV4 for Vista

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
    ______
     
  10. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hey and Thanks,

    I will update this tomorrow.

    Paul
     
  11. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You bet.I will be here on my little Island Paradise.Will catch you in the AM.
     
  12. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hey,

    Broadband Provider: o2.

    Router: Belkin N1 vision F5D8231-4

    Network Card: Belkin N wireless network adapter F5D8053ed

    Wireless Encryption: WEP

    Windows XP HOME SP2

    Use Firefox and IW. Symptoms are the same.

    Ok as for those ping tests on cmd I am going to run them as soon as the internet stops working again and before i restart the router to fix the issue.

    Paul
     
  13. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Edited for crap format - reply below
     
  14. paulhughes

    paulhughes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hey I actually went on holiday which is why I haven't replied pertinently. I thought I could do everything but was unfortunatly wrong. Anyway.

    First detailed Post asked for this.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600] (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping yahoo.com

    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>nbtstat -n

    Wireless Network Connection 7:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.2] Scope Id: []
    NetBIOS Local Name Table Name Type Status ---------------------------------------------
    PAUL <00> UNIQUE Registered
    PAUL <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered ..__
    MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Paul
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin F5D8053 N Wireless USB Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-DF-6A-08-B7
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    87.194.0.52
    87.194.0.53
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 July 2009 03:17:54
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 July 2019 03:17:54

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    The second John Will post asked for this.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping 192.168.2.2

    Pinging 192.168.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.2: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1648ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1648ms, Average = 421ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping 87.194.0.52

    Pinging 87.194.0.52 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out. Request timed out.
    Request timed out. Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 87.194.0.52: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Joe>ping 87.194.0.53 Pinging 87.194.0.53 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out. Request timed out.
    Request timed out. Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 87.194.0.53: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss), --------------------------------------------------------------

    Now remember I said that I could always solve the Internet issue by just restarting the router. Its just that this is always far too regular. Can even be twice every few hours.

    Secondly I have never got any problem connecting to the router. On the routers main page it states that the internet is connected when I cannot connect to any other page except the routers own status page.

    Thanks in advance Paul
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sounds like the router has a problem, or perhaps the broadband modem.

    Some things you can try here, listed in the order you should try them.

    1. For wireless connections, remove all the stored wireless profiles and search for networks. You'll have to enter the encryption key again, which is sometimes the issue for connection problems.
    2. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
    3. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
    4. Update the network drivers (wired and wireless) on your computer to the latest available.
    5. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
    6. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/838938

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice