1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin Router 192.168.2.1 Admin Access Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by frankiev172, Sep 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I have two routers,

    1. Belkin Wireless Router Model# F5D7230-4

    2. Belkin N300 N Wireless, Model #F9K1002V4
    My ISP uses a Technicolor modem, Model #TG582n.

    When I connect the F5D7230-4 router to the modem and computer, I have internet service, and I can access the router administration pages at 192.168.2.1 by logging in with a password. When I run ipconfig, the ip address of the router is reported as the default gateway.

    When I connect the F9K1002V4 to the modem and computer, I have internet service, but I cannot access the router administration pages at 192.168.2.1. When I run ipconfig, the ip address of the modem (NOT THE ROUTER) is reported as the default gateway. In fact, I don't see the router.

    I want to control the N Wireless router configuration, password, etc. the way I can control my other router. Can someone explain how to do this? I have tried several methods to reset the N router with no luck. Ipconfig /all is included, below. Please help!! Thanking you all, in advance.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU 2117U @ 1.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3981 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -2041 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 190425 MB, Free - 141545 MB; D: Total - 264344 MB, Free - 261899 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., X450CA
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    IPCONFIG /ALL:
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Franks-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-0A-64-81-B3-0D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 16-0A-64-81-B3-0D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-22-0B-6F-6A-09
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ad2f:3e9c:a791:931b%2(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.64(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:16:00 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 10:16:04 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 246161931
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1E-8A-3C-C6-AC-22-0B-6F-6A-09
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6abd:106f:12b0:bf12:6968(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::106f:12b0:bf12:6968%6(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318767104
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1E-8A-3C-C6-AC-22-0B-6F-6A-09
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you dont seem to have a modem address
    10.0.0.138
    is a router address (an older version)
    10.x.x.x
    172.x.x.x
    192.168.x.x

    are private router IP address
    if you connect the PC direct to the modem - then with an ipconfig /all you will/should see a modem Public IP address
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the WAN (internet) port or a LAN port of the F9K1002V4 connected to the TG582n?

    Is the F9K1002V4 maybe set to "AP" mode?

    Have you reset the F9K1002V4 to factory defaults, or is that the one that fails to reset?


    Wayne, the TG582n is a modem/wireless router combo. I did not search for its default LAN address.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thanks Terry
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome, Wayne. :) I've become so cynical that I no longer ever believe that "modem" means modem.
     
  6. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Hi Wayne and Terry. Wanted to thank you both for the quick responses. So, I tried Wayne's suggestion, but saw the same IP address for the Default gateway. So, it is almost as if the router is invisible. When I try to access the 10.0.0.138 IP address, I get access to the modem, not the N router.
    Now, to answer Terry's questions:
    Modem is connected to WAN (?) port of the N wireless router. It is labeled "Modem" and is yellow, while the other four are grey LAN ports.
    I believe "AP" is Access Point, but until I can access the admin configuration, I won't be able to tell anything about its configuration, unless you guys have a way of determining this.
    I tried a reset procedure provided by someone else on here that had a similar problem, but that did not work for me. If you have a set 'RESET' procedure you want me to try, preach on.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Check the documentation, but generally it consists of holding down the recessed reset button for 10 to 20 seconds and then watch the LEDs put on a little show.
     
  8. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Yeah, the reset version I tried before was holding it for 15 seconds with power on, then removing power while still holding the reset button while I count another 30 seconds, then powering back on and holding reset for another 15 seconds, or something like that, but it didn't work. I just downloaded the user's manual, and it says to hold for 10 seconds. I held it for 15 for sanity's sake, but nothing. It just continues flashing the amber light at the data stream rate. The reset button has no effect. Any other way to reset this bad boy? If not, I am going to have to open her up, and see what gives. It is behaving as if the ports are pass thru's, and the reset is disabled. Strange. Any other suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  9. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,753
    First Name:
    Mark
    I'm guessing the reset button is recessed behind a small access hole. When you press it (using a toothpick, paper clip or whatever) do you feel a tactile response? Can you tell if you are actulaay pressing the button? If so, I'd try holding it for 30 seconds, or so. As Terry indicated, when the reset takes place, the LEDs will all start blinking as if you had just powered it on.
     
  10. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry, Mark, my fault because I was not clear about that part. This is not one of those little holes where you use the end of a paper clip. This is a little red button, and yes, you do feel the tactile response from the switch. The LEDs just continue doing their thing, as if the button has no effect.
     
  11. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,753
    First Name:
    Mark
    OK, no problem. Most of the routers I've seen have the button recessed, but I have seen them your way, too.
    Have you held it longer than you'd think it should be? Like about :30, or so?
     
  12. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, held it for over a minute.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Router, at least the reset button, must be defective.
     
  14. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,753
    First Name:
    Mark
    Certainly seems that way!
     
  15. frankiev172

    frankiev172 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Yeap, I would have to agree. I want to thank you guys for all your help and suggestions. I am going to open her up, and see if I can get a better idea of why it isn't working the way it should. I will let you know what I find.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1178289

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice