Belkin Router - broadcasting 2 channels

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thatonegirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
31
I recently had to reset my router, back to factory default. The problem is after setting it up again and everything it's still somehow broadcasting the old network name. Alongside the new one. I can't find any help online to this problem and I asked the guy who helps with my computer and things but he hasn't gotten back to me and it's been over a week. Can someone please help?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
some routers are dual band and broadcast a 5ghz and 2.4ghz signal

can we see an xirrus screen shot - and also tells the names of the two signals

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

thatonegirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
31
Ok I just did what you said, here's the screenshot.
The connection I can connect to is Our Wireless Network, the old one is OurWirelessNetwork.
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
its not the 2.4 and 5 ghz signals

interesting one is "N" and has spacing in the name and the other is b/g and nospacing - also a complety different BSSID - which is often the address info , and much lower signal -
very unlikely but perhaps someone elses network

whats the exact model of the belkin
 

thatonegirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
31
It's the Belkin N150 Enhanced Wireless Router F6D4230-4, it's about 3 or so years old I think.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
I wonder if the

Extension Channel
The 802.11n draft specification allows the use of a secondary channel to double the bandwidth (see “Using the Bandwidth Switch” on the next page). An appropriate extension channel will be displayed when operating in 40MHz mode (see “Using the Wireless Mode Switch” below). The channel can be changed if needed.

is in use and displays two SSID signals

see page 40 off this manual
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rc...iYCIDA&usg=AFQjCNFaRt1Cy3lY2942gu5yF9yWr36fRw

general manuals
https://www4.belkin.com/support/article/?lid=en&pid=F6D4230-4&aid=14632&scid=221

I would look atthat configuration page and change the externsion channel - see if you can turn off
I cant find an online emulator to see what those options will do
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Or just unplug your router long enough to see if that other network also disappears. :)
 

thatonegirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
31
I wonder if the

Extension Channel
The 802.11n draft specification allows the use of a secondary channel to double the bandwidth (see “Using the Bandwidth Switch” on the next page). An appropriate extension channel will be displayed when operating in 40MHz mode (see “Using the Wireless Mode Switch” below). The channel can be changed if needed.

is in use and displays two SSID signals

see page 40 off this manual
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rc...iYCIDA&usg=AFQjCNFaRt1Cy3lY2942gu5yF9yWr36fRw

general manuals
https://www4.belkin.com/support/article/?lid=en&pid=F6D4230-4&aid=14632&scid=221

I would look atthat configuration page and change the externsion channel - see if you can turn off
I cant find an online emulator to see what those options will do
I read it did what you said, didn't help. And looked through every setting, it's not showing up on my router. I don't know what's wrong. :/

Or just unplug your router long enough to see if that other network also disappears. :)
I tried that after I noticed it to begin with, I tried it again after you suggested it. I left it unplugged for an this time, and it still was showing. I unplugged it again and it's been unplugged for a little over 12 hours now and it's still showing.


I don't understand, it's not someone else's signal. That was ours, same channel and everything. I don't know what's wrong and I can't seem to find the problem.

Thanks anyways, sorry to waste your time..
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
I tried that after I noticed it to begin with, I tried it again after you suggested it. I left it unplugged for an this time, and it still was showing. I unplugged it again and it's been unplugged for a little over 12 hours now and it's still showing.
it must be someone else's router and they used the same term , seems most unlikely , I cant think of anything else TerryNet may do

unless you have another device in the home broadcasting a signal
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
unless you have another device in the home broadcasting a signal
My thought also--a wireless access point or Repeater (Range Extender) in another part of house.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top