1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin router disconnects every 44 sec

Discussion in 'Networking' started by luukki123, Oct 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. luukki123

    luukki123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Hello, my belkin N router keeps on disconnecting EVERY 44 secs. (exactly, i've tested it). When it disconnects, the blue "globe" on the router becomes amber and starts blinkin but just for a few seconds. The disconnect lasts only like 2 seconds.

    Here is my IPconfig \all
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Luukas>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Luukki-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : PdaNet Broadband Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-37-BD-39-42
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-7E-8D-2F-5C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5009 802.11a/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-C4-C6-51
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 22. lokakuuta 2011 23:11:37
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 23. lokakuuta 2011 23:11:37
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Users\Luukas>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest firmware; then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it.

    To what modem or modem/router or router are you connecting the Belkin?
     
  3. luukki123

    luukki123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    I've tried upgrading firmware but not resetting it to factory settings.

    Actually the N router is suposed to be a modem/router despite of it's name.

    What should i do if resetting it wont work (probably wont) ?

    Thanks :)
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's possible, but not too likely, that there is a problem with your ISP or your internal wiring (or a filter if this is DSL).

    If this is a new modem/router it is possible that your ISP requires the modem's MAC Address to be registered with them and you have not yet done so. Or you may have configured the WAN section incorrectly.

    The modem/router may be defective.
     
  5. luukki123

    luukki123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    How can i fix those problems?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you really think that you got hit with all of them at once? More likely only one is the cause, and normal troubleshooting technique would be to first try to eliminate as many as possible. The ones in my middle paragraph are obviously the easiest for you to check and solve on your own.
     
  7. luukki123

    luukki123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    No i don't think so. OK will check on google for those problems.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1023507

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice