1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin Router help needed

Discussion in 'Networking' started by barb210, Aug 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. barb210

    barb210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Hi

    Can anyone help with this one. I have a Belkin Wireless Router F5d6231-4. I would like to be able to get wireless internet on my new laptop.

    My problem is that my telephone point, where my modem for my pc is connected, is in a different room to my pc. I have a long cable running from one room to the modem which sits next to my pc

    In order to use the router, I have to disconnect one end of the modem and plug it into the router and then connect the router to the pc. I hope this makes sense to someone because I am really struggling.

    I don't have anybody to install this for me and thought it would be an easy job. I just want internet connection to my laptop without having to buy a wireless modem.

    Thanks for any help
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,825
    First Name:
    Terry
    OK, it shouldn't be too hard. But, what's the problem? You do connect the modem to the router's WAN (modem, internet) port and a PC to one of the router's LAN ports. Power cycle (unplug it for 10 or 20 seconds) the modem anytime you switch from computer to router or vice versa. I assume that you have a Quick Installation Guide, as well as a User Guide, to which you can refer? Does this give you internet access on the PC?

    If not, your DSL service probably requires a static IP, or something like PPPoE, or a user/password.

    If you don't have internet access at this point, and don't know what to try next, post an ipconfig /all for the PC connected to the router and again for it connected to the modem.

    Open a Command Window via
    Start - Run - cmd - OK (use Command instead of cmd for Windows 98 and ME)
    Then in the Command window type
    ipconfig /all
    Right click in the window - select 'select all' and hit the Enter key to copy contents to clipboard. You can then paste into a Notepad file or directly to here.
     
  3. barb210

    barb210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    My problem is actually connecting the router to the modem. The installation guide says to disconnect one end of the modem and connect it to the router. That's where the problem comes in because the telephone point of the modem cable is in a different room to my pc. Therefore if I take the router to the telephone point I can't then connect it to the pc.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, you'll have to run a wire somewhere, because the router has to be connected hardwared to the modem. :)
     
  5. barb210

    barb210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    If I take the router to the telephone point, can I get a long cable to connect it to the pc and if so what do I need?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,825
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't understand (OK, so that's nothing new!).

    I thought you had a long phone cable from somewhere to the PC room, where you have the modem and the PC. So, you disconnect the ethernet cable between modem and PC and insert router, using same cable plus the one that came with router. What am I missing?

    Oh! Is your PC connected to modem via USB? If so, either the modem also has an ethernet port (and you need another ethernet cable) or else you need a different modem.

    In any case, the router does not connect to the phone line (except indirectly through a DSL modem).
     
  7. barb210

    barb210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Yes the modem is connected to the pc via a usb port, so does that mean I can't use the router? there isn't anywhere else to connect a cable to on the modem.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,825
    First Name:
    Terry
    If your modem is ISP supplied there is always the possibility that they will let you exchange it for one with ethernet. Be sure to offer to do the traveling needed to make an exchange.

    To use that router you need a modem that has an ethernet connection. The other option is a wireless DSL modem/router combo. That's a unit that, as the name implies, combines the DSL modem and the wireless router in one (often confusing) box.

    A related note: your PC does have ethernet, right?
     
  9. barb210

    barb210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Thanks for all your help. Looks like I am going to have to buy a new router/modem to solve the problem, not what I wanted to do.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/496651

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice