1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin router setup screen problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MECHATRON1, Jan 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MECHATRON1

    MECHATRON1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all, new to the forums, so please be easy on me. I am trying to setup a sling box on my network and need to acess my router's set up screen 192.168.2.1, but all I get is a white and grey screen saying router setup in small lettering a Belkin link towards the bottom and the time in the middle of the screen. No other tabs or links. I have MSN/Qwest DSL connected to an Actiontech modem/router which is connected to a Belkin F5D8231-4 Wireless router. The sling box is connected via ethernet to the wireless router as is an old desktop running xp. Also connected wirelessly to two laptops, one running xp and one vista. internet all works fine. Have tried accessing the page both wirelessly and directly connected to the routers and I get the same mostly blank page. More information that may be usefull:

    Internet IP address: 192.168.0.5
    IP address: 192.168.2.1
    Subnet Maks: 255.255.255.0

    Please let me know if anymore information is required and of course any and all help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MECHATRON1

    MECHATRON1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Copy and pasted some more info that may be helpfull in diagnosis:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\John>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Prime
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-F6-A8-BA
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-81-77-F6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    192.168.2.1
    192.168.0.1
    205.171.3.25
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 14, 2009 9:20:21
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 12, 2018 9:20:21 PM
    C:\Documents and Settings\John>
     
  3. MECHATRON1

    MECHATRON1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry keep posting in parts. Already tried factory reset as well. Firm ware on my Belkin is the latest I could find on the Belkin website. Haven't called Belkin yet but have emailed them and their only solution involves accessing the setup page which is the problem itself. Thanks again.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you've tried to access the page from more than one computer, and get the same results, it sounds like the Belkin router has a problem. I think it's time for repair or replacement.

    Can you post a screen shot of what you get?


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/790705

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice