1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Belkin wireless router problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by boone9210, Feb 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boone9210

    boone9210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I have a Belkin n+ f5d8235-4 v2 and I have reset the router and then I had to manually reconfigure everything and I may have messed something up. The router has two blinking amber lights: the modem and internet lights.
    -I began with my modem booted up, then I booted up my router while my modem and router were connected via yellow ethernet cable and another cable from my router to computer.
    -First, I set up a new password
    -Next, I went to Connection Type and set up - Dynamic, then entered my ISP host name and clicked apply.
    -Next, I went to MAC address cloning, and just clicked apply as the boxes were already filled with characters.
    -Next, I went to Channel and SSID and left everything the same except I changed my SSID name and took off the box marked broadcast SSID then clicked apply . The wireless channel was set to auto and current channel was 11 and extension channel was set to auto.
    Next, I went to Security, Security Type: WPA-PSK, Authentication: WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK and entered a new PSK and clicked obscure PSK then apply
    Next, I went to Guest Access and enabled radio, created ssid name, Security: WPA/WPA2 PSK, Authentication: WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK then entered the same PSK as before and clicked obscure PSK then apply.
    For some reason, when I go back to both of the previous two screens, the new password I created does not show up, only my old one but when I type the new password into my wifi network, it connects.
    This is as far as I have been and I'm not really sure what to do now. My internet connection from my modem is fine and I've updated the firmware on my router.
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,687
    First Name:
    Allan
    I think it's not showing the new wireless password because you told it to obscure it. You could test that by entering the password again without obscuring it.

    Did you have a particular aim in mind when you changed the router settings ?
     
  3. boone9210

    boone9210 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Ok yeah I tried entering it without obscuring it and now my new password stays there. I don't have a preference for my settings, I just want it to work, I was trying to follow directions from what I've read online.
    Any suggestions? I would greatly appreciate it, thank you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2016
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,687
    First Name:
    Allan
    What problem(s) do you have now ?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1166075

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice