1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Best config for IDE devices?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Chum, Jan 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chum

    Chum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,005
    Current config is HDD Primary, CD Rom on Secondary...getting a burner...what should I slave it too?
     
  2. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    Hi there!

    I say make it a Slave to the secondary IDE controller! However...some burners are picky and want to be on the Master instead of the slave!


    Good Luck!

    ST
     
  3. plschwartz

    plschwartz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    11,451
    A friend told me that when he had the cd annd the burner on the same IDE cable his copying software didn't like it and he had to change it over. I would put the cd and HDD on one cable and burner on the other. Also I am told that having two HDDs of different speeds on same cable will slow down the faster one. Don't know if this is true of CDs.
     
  4. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    Yep, HDD and CD-rom on 1st IDE cable. CDRW on 2nd.
     
  5. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Most manufacturer’s instructions say to put it with the CD-ROM on the secondary. But moving your CD-ROM over to slave on the primary is more efficient for data transfer if you copy CDs directly from the CD-ROM. Either way will probably work fine.

    Having either a slower HD or an optical device on the primary will not slow the HD. That only occurred with very old systems.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115015

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice