Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Best Free Security

Solved 
6K views 32 replies 10 participants last post by  lazarking 
#1 ·
Good afternoon TSG. I have been running Windows 10 now for about 8 months without any problems. My current security Trend Micro, is about to expire and I am leaning towards Avira as a free alternative. Can I please get some feed back on Avira and any others that you feel would be better and provide me with a safe download link.

#4 ·
Avira was getting some pretty good heuristics detection scores as I remember. Probably did not earn top place because of some usability issues or something non-essential. I would recommend it. I would get it from here: https://www.avira.com/
I was using Avast back in my in my old XP days. I wont elaborate but I was not that happy with it. A friend has just bought a three key Norton 360 Windows 10 compatable. Any comments for this one please. I have friends that have used it and have had mothing but trouble and have elected to go for Avira free or Bit defender free. I realise that Windows 10 has its own security, but Google tells me that it is still to my advantage to install a third party security. In which case Windows Defender is automatically disabled.

#6 ·
can't say i'm a fan of Norton after my early experiences with it on XP. but i've had Avast installed on a win7 machine for years, without any issues.

also, Avira isnt a bad choice which ive found to be ok and the same with Qihoo 360 Total Security Antivirus. installed it on a friends and went into the settings to enable the Bitdefender scanner.

#7 ·
Ok. Thankyou all for your feedback. I'd like to leave this thread open for a few days if its ok until I have spoken to my friend about Paid Norton 360. The uninstall for my current security appears to be in the start menu{Not the control panel}, so I may need a bit of assistance there. I am still leaning toward Avira and still have a lot to learn about Windows 10

#8 ·