1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Best Graphic card under budget

Discussion in 'Games' started by Nitin17, Mar 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    My Pc specs:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590S CPU @ 3.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4033 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 97 GB (24 GB Free); D: 278 GB (30 GB Free); E: 277 GB (33 GB Free); F: 278 GB (59 GB Free); I: 0 GB (0 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., H81M-CS
    Antivirus: None
    m buying Gskill ripjaws X series 8gb ram too so means 8+4=12 gb ram
    my budget is 6000Rs
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    cpu.JPG
    gpu.JPG
    ASUS H81M-CS motherboard
    It has 2 DIMM slots and supports a maximum of 16 GB(8 GB X 2) of DDR3-1600 RAM.
    It has a PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot for the graphic card.
    Your computer appears to currently have 4 GB of RAM.
    If you're adding 8 GB to it, that equates to 12 GB, not 16 GB.

    What's the brand name and complete model number and wattage of the power supply in your computer?
    If your intent is to add a more powerful graphic card for gaming, you want to make sure the power supply can handle it.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    yes12 Gb ram sry my bad :ROFLMAO: one more thing how to check the model no nd power supply??
     
  4. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    ok i found it...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    Capture.JPG

    That low quality power supply has only 18 amps on its 12 volt rail.
    Most graphic cards require at least 20 amps.

    The flash in your image prevents the last part from being seen, so it's unknown what the total continuous output is.

    Why do you want to replace the graphic card?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Total output shall not continuously exceed 200W... nd i want to replace graphic coz tht GeForce210 i have is very old nd not compatible to run mostly games smoothly....:cry:
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    The GeForce GT 710 and GeForce GT 720 are low powered graphic cards and are what I use in my Dell desktops that have a power supply which is rated at not to continuously exceed 240W.

    They're much better than your GeForce 210, so one of them may suffice for you.

    710.JPG 720.JPG
    (click each image to enlarge and view)

    I've requested someone to jump in who has much more knowledge than I do in hardware and gaming, so be patient.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017
  8. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    ok thnx !!
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    I added 2 images in post #7 so you can compare the GT 710 and GT 720 to your 210.

    I requested OverTallman (Jacky) to jump in.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Nitin17 likes this.
  10. OverTallman

    OverTallman

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    First Name:
    Jacky
    Hmm... I thought it's a 450W PSU? (A guess by its model number)

    Anyway, this thing is cheap and you should replace it ASAP. Once you replace it with a much better one (500W+ with at least 80+ bronze rating), it opens up a lot more options. Definitely well worth it considering the rest of your computer is pretty decent.

    But with your budget in mind, your options are limited to low-power cards anyway so you may be able to use a slightly more powerful card without having a firework show.

    For new cards the best you can go are probably R7 250 and GT 730 GDDR5. For GT 730, only look for GDDR5 one, don't buy the DDR3 one (slower), don't buy the 128-bit one (Fermi GPU instead of Kepler, rebranded GT 430).

    If you don't mind buying used parts, limit yourself to cards with 75W or lower TDP.

    Case study: My sister's 9-year-old LGA 775 tower with a crappy 420W PSU has a Xeon E5450 (80W, 15W more than your i5), HD 5670 (64W), a pair of 2GB DDR2 RAM (higher voltage, higher power draw), a PCI wireless card, a 500GB HDD, a DVD drive and a few fans. It's running great and it doesn't tax the PSU too much.
     
  11. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    thnx jack!u said GT 730 but there are many listed as same name ...u mean zotac,evga or another??

     
  12. OverTallman

    OverTallman

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    First Name:
    Jacky
    Yes, brand doesn't matter much for low-end cards, just look for GDDR5 version and that's it.
     
  13. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    but if i should go for gddr5 i'll nly get GPU of 1gb (under my budget)..so is there any big diff b/w ddr5 nd gddr5?
     
  14. OverTallman

    OverTallman

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    First Name:
    Jacky
    First, DDR5 doesn't exist yet.

    Next, GT 730 comes with either DDR3 or GDDR5. GDDR5 has much higher memory bandwidth than DDR3, that's where performance difference comes with the same graphics chip.

    Finally, having 2GB RAM on a low-end card is pretty much useless, cause you ain't gonna do serious gaming with cards like this anyway.
     
  15. Nitin17

    Nitin17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    http://www.amazon.in/ZOTAC-NVIDIA-DDR5-Graphics-Card/dp/B00L61VGPU. ddr5??
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1187327

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice