1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Best Language for this?

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by jkhdesigns, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jkhdesigns

jkhdesigns Thread Starter

Hello,

I am not a programmer, but have written a lot of programs in my life time, using Pascal,C, Delphi and a complete accounts receivable program in (Pal) Paradox application language but this was over 15 years ago. I have built several simple web sites but now I am trying to build a password protected web site that will allow a user to log in and then have a form to send information back to me by e-mail. I have all the pages and forms built in Dreamweaver and HTML and have all the fields validated by learning a little about Javascript. I have been able to get mailto to open outlook and receive one line of the form data but no more, I have about 12 fields that I need sent back. I know that this is not a very secure way of doing this, but its not a high security money transaction site. I am using Windows 2000 and am only a single user not on a server system. I don't know anything about Unix or Linux OS's. I also need something that hopefully is low budget, don't mind buying a book or something if I need to. Do I need PHP, Ajax,CGI, Perl or what other language do you recommend?

2. TheRobatron

TheRobatron