1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

best media player/codec to decode MKV files using the graphics card?

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by tonypham, Aug 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonypham

    tonypham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    my graphics card is a bit more powerful than my processor.

    nvdia 6800 gto
    and pentium IV HT 3.0 GHZ

    most media players (VLC for example) use your processor for most of the work. are there any which take advantage of your graphics card?
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Far as I know the only hardware decoding that graphics cards
    do is mpeg2.
    Don't know if any of them do mpeg4 yet.
    Codecs are software coder/decoders and don't actually access the
    graphics card directly.
     
  3. tonypham

    tonypham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    i heard CoreAVC may be helpful?
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    I haven't seen that before but it looks like it can
    dump some of the load onto the graphics processor
    for H.264 streams.
    It is not using a hardware decoder,but the actual graphics
    processor and requires a compatable nvidia card and cuda software.
    There is also this mentioned.
    Prefer CUDA acceleration
    If this option is on the decoder will attempt to accelerate H.264 decoding by utilising your graphics card. This option is only available if you have a NVIDIA CUDA compatible video card and driver installed. Not all streams can be decoded using hardware acceleration. Changes to this option may not take effect until playback is restarted.

    Requires one of these cards.....
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260/280/290/295, 9800, 9600, 9500, 8800 GT, 8800 GTS 512, 8700, 8600, 8500, 8400, Tesla S1070/C1060, Quadro FX 3700, Quadro FX 3600M, Quadro FX 1700/FX 570/ NVS 320M/FX 1600M/FX 570M/FX 370/NVS 290/NVS 140M/NVS 135M/FX 360M/NVS 130M and higher.
     
  5. lordsmurf

    lordsmurf

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,156
    nVidia Cuda
     
  6. tonypham

    tonypham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    damn. guess i can't use it
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/943413

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice