1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Best practice for network setup on new Server 2008 R2

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scs-04, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scs-04

    scs-04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    I am setting up a new Dell server that runs Server 2008 R2 and it has 2 network ports. What is the recommended way to setup those network ports. I have seen it setup where each network port has its own IP address on a different network. One port will have a 10.0.0.? address and is cabled directly to the internet router and then the other port will have an address of 192.168.1.? and is then cabled to the network switch with all the internal PC's. I have also seen it where 1 port is disabled and the other will have an address of 192.168.1.? and is connected into the switch with the PC's and the router. What is the preferred way to do this?? The server is on a small network with about 15 PC's and the server will be running DHCP and DNS. Is there a performance or security advantage to setting it up either way? Also we have a decent Sonicwall router connecting us to the internet. Any help or advice is appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    The dual NIC setup with 2 networks is generally set up if you are running an ISA server as well to port forward and manage internet traffic. If you already have a firewall just set it up with one port for LAN traffic. You can also use a second port as a fail over NIC or you can team them to combine the bandwidth with the NIC management software.
     
  3. scs-04

    scs-04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks that is usually the way I set them up. The server we are replacing has 2 network ports with 2 different networks set on them, I didn't really see the advantage to this. All internet traffic must go through the server before it hits the firewall/router in that setup. It is just a basic file/print server that supports about 15 users.

    Thanks for the help.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029192

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice