1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Best Software to Autofix Multiple Scanned Images?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by cg333, Jan 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Hi All,
    Just wanted a quick opinion on any software that anyone uses to autofix multiple scanned images.

    I have over 10,000 photos that I am in the process of archiving online and currently I am using PhotoImpact X3 with Scanned Image Fix. It works fairly well, but it does have several flaws included a lack of cropping capability (it exists but it is not very good).

    I would like to be able to place X number of photos on my scanned, click a button or two, have it slice, and perform a specified set of optimizations. I am not looking for perfection, simply ease-of-use and speed.

    Anyone use anything other than X3 with Scanned Image Fix?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It really depends what kind of "optimizations" you are talking about. But the batch-processing features of the free IrfanView work very well if the program has the fixes that you are looking for.
     
  3. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Elvandil,
    I am taking a look at IrfanView right now, thank you!

    Just basic optimizations, remove basic noise, color correction and cropping. Nothing fancy.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you ever did decide to do something fancy, take a look at the GIMP. It's an open-source imaging program with all the bells, whistles, and plug-ins you could probably ever want.

    IrfanView (with its plugin package) still surprizes me, though. It has features that I discover each time I use it. And it's a pretty good media player, too.
     
  5. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    I use gimp for editing, but not batch editing like this. It doesn't seem to have the options. Maybe a plug-in somewhere?
     
  6. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Looks like the XSane plug-in may work - checking out now.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you use GIMP at all regularly, you already know more than I do. I use it so rarely that I need to start from scratch each time.

    But, it should have batch-processing abilities if it doesn't. It may just be a matter of choosing multiple files if that option is available when you load the files for processing. I know that with some programs I have, there is no mention of being able to use more than one file at a time, but they can be selected and processed, anyway.
     
  8. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    It does have batch capabilities for editing, but I would like it to batch the scanning process as well (hence maybe the Xsane plug-in).

    Most importantly, click scan - have it separate and crop the images. That way I don't have to manually crop every time I place 4+ images on my scanner.

    The batching for optimizations - color corrections, etc. - any image program can usually handle.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Won't your scanning software do that for you? I use VueScan (because it has its own drivers and my scanner wasn't supported in Vista) and I'm pretty sure it has that type of post-processing ability.

    (PS. If you hang around here long enough, somebody who knows all about this stuff will show up eventually.)
     
  10. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Trying VueScan now - I refuse to install 400+MB of HP software.
     
  11. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Irfanview and Vuescan don't have the auto-crop/detection of multiple images on scanning capability. :-(
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    Me too..
    Don't know if this helps .. But I load the basic HP scanner driver (twain) .. Then scan with Irfanview
    HP's bloat not required
     
  13. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Noyb,
    Can it auto-crop a random number of photos?
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    Sorry ... Just auto-crop one at a time.
    Normally - The scan is opened in Irfanview ... Then must be saved somewhere.
    It has a batch scanning mode ... But I've never used it.
     
  15. cg333

    cg333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Ye, I need auto-crop for multiple.
    Sticking with PhotoImpact for now. Works fairly well.
    But, if anyone has other options - let me know!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/793303