1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

best vhs to dvd transfer software

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by paschence, Feb 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paschence

    paschence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    I want to transfer home VHS and VHS-C movies to DVD using my PC laptop and want to spend under $50.00 for a program that allows me to do this. I would also like to make backup copies of DVD movies we have purchased. Any suggestions of some good programs?
     
  2. storage_man

    storage_man

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    376
    You are going to need a little bit more than software to accomplish this unless you PC has a built int VHS player, of which
    I have never seen. There is a host of converters that allow you to convert your analog videos from a vhs to your PC. I have a DAZZLE 80 DVC converter, works pretty good, there are better ones, there are also worse ones. The DVC-80 came with software so that you capture video from either your VHS player or your Camcorder. After the video is captured, your choice of how to build and create DVD's is vast. There is a large variety of software that will allow you to build and create DVD's.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. MustBNuts

    MustBNuts

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,016
    The way you've put it, it all sounds very easy...wish that were the case.

    First you have to capture the video to your computer, then render it to a DVD compatible format, then burn it. www.dvdrhelp.com is a good place for the specifics of the process.

    A quick and inexpensive way to capture via VCR and VHS-C is through a TV card. Most come with VCR type capabilities (they record what is being played on the TV) so you could hook up your VCR to your TV card, just as you would a normal TV, and record the video as it plays.

    I have an internal TV card (PCI) but I'm sure they must come in the external variety...

    Hope this helps,

    MBN
     
  4. storage_man

    storage_man

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    376
    MustBNuts
    Yes the rendering process is necessary, but all of the software that you purchase to burn DVD's has this built-in. I know that there is software that will give you all of the flexibility in the world, but to convert VHS to DVD (If you have both the hardware and the software) quite easy.
     
  5. MustBNuts

    MustBNuts

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,016
    I have tried the burning software (for rendering), IMHO it isn't very good.

    "If you have both the hardware and the software"... you've hit the nail on the head! If I had a million dollars....I'd be rich!

    Take a look at all the posts...getting all the hardware/software to play nicely can be a challenge...and then one needs to learn how to do it...

    Sorry, but I disagree with you. When it comes to moving analog video to DVD, it isn't necessarily easy. Once you've learned all the bits and pieces required, yes, it's easy, but it's getting there that can be very confusing and difficult.

    MBN
     
  6. gtard*10^kp

    gtard*10^kp

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    i am curently in the middle of doing that project...if you need any info send me an e-mail (i think i have it posted) or just pm me
    -gtard
     
  7. gtard*10^kp

    gtard*10^kp

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    bad idea. An external capture device (assuming it is running through USB) takes a lot out of your system plus it is really slow. i tried one of the external dazzle devices and it dropped like 25% of the frames. its just safe to go with the internal tv card (PCI or AGP)

    -gtard
     
  8. Sundance 1

    Sundance 1

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    hello,
    I have been using pinnacle moviebox usb for the past 4 months to convert my vhs tapes to dvd and had many audio/video sync problems. is there anyone who can tell me what i might do to correct this problem. the pinnacle studio support people have not been very helpful so i am looking for any advice on this matter. my computer is a pentium 4 2.66 ghz with a 160 gig hard drive devoted to capture and editing with a total of 1.5 gig of pc 2700 333 ddr.
    thanks,
    sundance 1
     
  9. bookime wood

    bookime wood

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    I capture through my leadtek tv card to DVD, then I edit/create vob/bup add menus with tmpgenc dvd author.
     
  10. cableguyxx

    cableguyxx

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    I use the older Pinnacle Deluxe blue breakoutbox(non USB), with v8.12 software, and had the same problem. I downloaded a standalone capture program called scenalyzer(www.scenalyzer.com) and that fixed the problem, so obviously it's a software issue with Pinnacle. The Scenalyzer has a trial download. I believe it costs $38. A small price to fix that annoying problems. I tried all of the suggested fixes on the Pinnacle boards and none of them worked until this program.

    I also have another problem. I've captured my video, and rendered it in Pinnacle software v8.12. it plays fine in the preview screen, but it frezzes when it's burned to disc. The one that frezzes has a title screen and I adjusted the audio and added 1 transition. Movie is about an hour long. Strangely, when I burned a previous version with just the video, no title/transition/audio improvements, the disc plays fine. Any ideas?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/207039