Best way to replace 4 yr old Motherboard?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dear Prudence

:rolleyes: Hi

My system is 4 years old.

The motherboard is a MSI - MS 6585
Chipset SiS 648
ATX Form Factor.
CPU - Socket 478 for P4 processors (Willimate 478 and Northwood 478)
with 400/533 MHz (100/133Mhz QDIR)

Mine is a 2.8 GHz

I have 1GB of RAM - PC2700

I cannot seem to find a replacement mobo.

MY QUESTION

This is my first time changing a mobo.

Because my CPU and chipset are as above - am I restricted to what
replacement board I buy?

In other words, do I have to locate a motherboard with the
exact specs as my old board has?

Or can I upgrade to a more modern one.

I'm really in the dark here - any help would be appriciated.

Thanks, Stephen

You're really better off with a new computer. If you bought a new motherboard you would probably have to get a new processor and RAM, too.

It depends, are you thinking of changing the motherboard because the old one is faulty or do you want an upgrade? If you want to replace because the old one is broken then yes, you do need to get a very similar motherboard.
You'll need an ATX motherboard which has socket 478, able to use 400/533 mhz RAM. If you put "Socket 478" into the search field of ebay, it should give you a few boards there for sale. The model numbers can then be googled to find the exact specifications.

If you are replacing the motherboard for an upgrade, then I personally wouldn't as you may not see much improvement, unless you specifically wanted one with more USB ports or better integrated graphics/sound

crjdriver

You do understand that replacing the board will most likely require at least a repair install of the os correct?