Best Web Hosting?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sf_331

Who do you all think is the best for web hosting?
Its for a small buisness. I expect relatively low traffic, so I dont need anything fancy. What im a little worried about is exposure. What i mean by that is that I want to be featured in search engines such as Google and some websites want to charge me for that. Is that normal? Im a rookie when it comes to these type of things so I dont know what is the best deal out there.
Thanks for the Help

Google doesn't care what webhost you use and you don't need to buy a listing.
I use netbunch.com for hosting.

How much space and bandwidth do you need? You may be able to get a way with this amazing free host:

http://www.freewebsitehost.net/

They are currently under a huge server wipe - signups will be back up on the 15th!
Otherwise, I would go with 1&1. Great features and amazing prices! (10,000 MB of space and 500 GB of bandwidth for $4.99 per month! :cool: )

Right now I use Rackslash http://www.rackslash.com

Have had 100% uptime, no slowdowns or any problems whatsoever. Comes with complete CPanel (forums, chat, email, online store, etc etc) access and FTP uploading which is nice.

Otherwise, I would go with 1&1. Great features and amazing prices! (10,000 MB of space and 500 GB of bandwidth for $4.99 per month!
And I had serious issues with 1&1. Didn't like them at all and they are a bear to cancel with. Whatever you do, do your research. Google the company. See if they have problems listed on other forums.

Some places to look for a host:
Web Host Directory
Web Hosting Ratings

Whatever you do, do NOT pay for a full year in advance.
Make sure that service is your primary goal.
There is NO such animal as UNLIMITED bandwidth.