1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Better/Worse? Two old CPU's for old PC..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Super-D-38, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    Just a curiosity question. I found an old AMD K6 chip in a scrap computer.
    I would like to know if it is better/faster than my "Cyrix Instead" with MMX?
    Both I think are 266's and socket 7.......

    It's for my first PC that is now used for solitaire and surfing the net...

    And what steps, if any, should I do to swap them, if the K-6 turns out better?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    If it is a K6-2 then it likely will run faster. However you wont really notice the diference. as a matter of fact if it is a 266<hz chip it is not going to be a K6-2 cpu. But it will still likely runa bit fastr than a Cyrix chip.
     
  4. Hulk701

    Hulk701 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,581
    I had a K6 and it was a 500mhz. Also, it was faster than its predecessor, the Thunderbird.

    You can try just taking one out and putting the other one in. If both are socket 7 they should fit. Whether they clear the bios is another story. You also might have to get a more powerful fan for the faster processor. Also, your multiplier clock may have to be adjusted. You can consult the motherboard manual to find out what the new settings should be.

    Be sure the line the dot on the chip up with the flat corner on the processor holder.

    IF you see anything smoking, overheating or a hear a buzzer going off unplug it immediatly ;)

    If you don't have your motherboard manual you might be able to download one by going to the manufacturer's website. You need to know the make and model number. You can find this out by opening the case and reading it, restarting your computer and pressing PAUSE and then ESC on your keyboard until it comes up, or downloading the BELARC ADVISOR and reading what it says.

    Good Luck,
    HULK! ;)
     
  5. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    Thanks for the tips... It looks like it's just "plug and pray"..
    The AMD says 266Mhz on it.
    I did have the board manual once but it's gone, gotta find it again.

    This will be my first ever CPU swap, glad it's an old PC.
     
  6. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    All right I'm stuck....
    The Chip says: AMD-K6/266AFR 2.2V core 3.3V I/O ..A 9825CPBW

    Ok I know how to set the core and I/O.. But what speed is it? And how do I set it?..
    I have the manual and I've attached the page that says how... But I don't see this chip listed and I don't won't to get this wrong.

    Column on the right sets the CPU speed, but what do I set it to?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Hulk701

    Hulk701 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,581
    First, a 266 won't give you much more speed than a 233. A better idea would be to add more RAM. How much ram do you have in there now?

    Second, usually motherboard settings have a 233> setting. Yours doesn't appear to have one. If this computer doesn't mean that much to you I'd try the 233 setting and see if it works. LIke I said it won't increase speed that much anyway.

    If it DOES mean something to you I'd stop right here and get the RAM instead.
     
  8. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    Well it has sentimental value.......... uh wait.. well yes I do need to keep it.
    Ram, a recent upgrade has me to 64MB of DIMM.. (Was 32MB of SIMM..) You remember the real Olllllld stuff.

    If I remember rightly the board can only handle 256MB.. But unless it's free, it ain't worth it.

    And the Cyrix claims it's also a 266MHz.... I was just curiouse if it would be a good swap... Sounds like a NO.

    Thanks for the info and insight.
     
  9. Hulk701

    Hulk701 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,581
  10. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    LOL... SIMMS. hey arn't those slower then the DIMMS?
    So is my understanding any way..
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323875

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice