1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Big Problem! Need Help ASAP!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by SemiX5, Apr 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SemiX5

SemiX5 Thread Starter

I'll try to explain this to the best of my knowledge. I'm not very good with computers, hence why I'm posting here.

I have 2 main hard drives, c: and h:. here is the information for both.

Local Disk (C:)
    File System: NTFS
    Free Space: 386MB (Just cleaned it)
    Total Size: 5.29GB

Local Disk (H:)
    File System: NTFS
    Free Space: 147GB
    Total Size: 148GB

The problem is that EVERYTHING I do is decreasing the space on the Local C: drive. By everything, I mean surfing the web, downloading, anything. I have to constantly clean it because it decreases so fast. If I remember right, I think it said something about it being a recovery disk or something.

If you know how I can somehow get stuff to start storing on the H: drive, it would be greatly appreciated. Please give detailed step-by-step instructions.

Thanks.

2. fairnooks

fairnooks Banned

I would say you are a strong candidate to transition over to the larger hard drive with your operating system. Are these two seperate drives or partitions on the same drive? You can live on a 5.29 gig partition but all the things you would have to do to make enough room to be comfortable are fairly involved and then you would have a customized system that you'd always have to remember was set up differently so things were in different locations and had different behaviors in some cases.

Let us know which way and someone (if not me) can start you on the process either way.

3. artimus

artimus