1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Big Problems - Windows Live Messenger & Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by steve-1962, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Hi

    I have just purchased an ACER computer and am running Vista. Previously I ran Windows Live Messenger on XP without any problems for a couple of years. However, I fired up my new computer about a week ago and I am being driven nuts trying to get Messenger to work. It is the latest version of Messenger - when I attempt to sign-in, the start-up screen for Messenger just "hangs there". The two small men are spinning in circles, my username and password are correct and my security setting APPEAR to be OK. Today I attempted a sign-in and after returning to my computer some 4 hours later, the two men were spinning. There is not even an error message to give me some clues.

    Please help.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
  3. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks BlackMirrror

    I will try this now.

    Steve
     
  4. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    BlackMirror

    No luck with Messenger. Still the same.

    Steve
     
  5. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
    Have you tried the connectivity tool

    open up MSN fully tools options connection
     
  6. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    It states:

    Test results

    IP... checked OK
    Default gateway... checked OK
    IE's offline setting... not checked
    Hosts file... checked OK
    DNS... checked OK
    Proxy server... checked OK
    Key ports... checked OK
    Wireless... not checked
     
  7. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
    Have you allowed it in your firewall ???

    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling msn ???
     
  8. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Tried both mulitple times.
    Even switched the firewall off completely.
     
  9. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
    Have you tried an older version
     
  10. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    When I attempt to run earlier versions, I receive a message telling me that in order to continue, I must download the latest version.
     
  11. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,641
    I am going to see if i can find a vista expert for you
    asked for the thread to be moved into the Vista bit
     
  12. steve-1962

    steve-1962 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Much appreciated - this is really frustrating me no end.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/666563

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice