1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bing Searches Problem

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dougglos, Nov 8, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    First Name:
    Douglas
    I am obliged to revisit this subject although it appeared to have been solved a few weeks ago. When I entered some words to enable me to search the internet for help via Bing, the first letter of words I used did not appear - for example "Cats and Dogs" was coming up as "Cats nd ogs" I did receive help from someone who suggested that I run a Firefox Refresh, and up until today this has proven successful. But suddenly, the problem has appeared again, the refresh has no effect, and I am still left with the shortened words syndrome! Is there anything else I can try in order to correct this annoying problem?
     
  2. britekguy

    britekguy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    374
    Is this occurring across different web browsers, or only Firefox?

    If it's only Firefox I would consider doing a Firefox refresh, or complete uninstall and reinstall. If it's doing the same thing in other browsers, then I'd suspect something else is afoot.
     
  3. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    First Name:
    Douglas
    Well, as mentioned in my post, the refresh had no effect. I am hesitant to uninstall / reinstall Firefox, as I have quite a number of bookmarks, and am perhaps not too confident as to whether they would all need to be set up again following such a reinstall. (It took me ages to set them up originally!). Similarly trying with a different browser, I have never used any other and again would be unhappy if my bookmarks all disappeared.
     
  4. britekguy

    britekguy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    374
    Well, this is a learning opportunity on several fronts. If you use the Firefox Sync function, and are syncing your bookmarks, they are kept in the cloud on Firefox's servers. If you are not using that function, then you need to undertake your first experience with exporting bookmarks, which is a good idea to do on occasion anyway as that creates a bookmarks backup file that's under your control. Were you to lose your bookmarks you can import them right back in.

    Whether you want to use another browser on a permanent basis is an issue of its own, but irrelevant here. You must try another browser, or preferably two, simply as a diagnostic step to assess whether this behavior crosses browsers on your machine, which would suggest something at the OS level "is off," or it doesn't, which points to a Firefox issue.

    What I would suggest you do is the following:

    1. Export your bookmarks from Firefox to a backup file. See: Export Firefox bookmarks for backup and/or importing into another browser.

    2. Download another web browser and install it. I would suggest Brave, Microsoft Edge Dev, or Google Chrome.

    3. Look at the Help function for whichever you download and install, and search on "Import bookmarks" or "Import favorites." Follow the step-by-step instructions for doing so, using the backup file you created in step one as the source.

    4. Start doing some testing using Bing in the other browser or browsers to see if the weird "character drop" behavior continues. I really doubt that it will, as I believe this is most likely a Firefox issue, but you must check.

    5. If it continues, try clearing browser cache in Firefox, and check again. If this fixes the issue you're done.

    5. If it continues, if you have not setup a Firefox Sync account, I'd really suggest you do so, as you can choose to sync your bookmarks, add-ons, saved passwords (if any), and many other things for safekeeping. You can skip this step if you wish if you are worried about nothing beyond your bookmarks, which you will now know that you have safely tucked in the HTML backup file and can be easily imported into Firefox or any other web browser.

    6. If it appears to be a Firefox issue, uninstall Firefox, electing to remove all related profile data if that is asked. You want things to be as "clean as a whistle" as far as not having any traces of Firefox left behind. I would suggest restarting your computer afterward.

    7. Using the secondary browser you've installed for diagnostic testing (and will probably want to keep should you ever need to do additional diagnostic testing), download a fresh copy of Firefox and install.

    8. Either set up Sync again using the account you previously created, or if you didn't create one, then use the Import Bookmarks feature in Firefox either when installing it or afterward to snag your bookmarks back.

    If, after having done all of the above, the issue still persists then we have to look at possible OS corruption.
     
  5. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    First Name:
    Douglas
    I duly decided to choose one of your suggested options re a different browser, and installed Brave. This seemed to go fine, until I wanted to search the Internet for something as a trial . So using the trusty "Cats and Dogs", I entered that and it came up as "Catsanddogs" this time! It is fair to say that I am becoming very frustrated! I did, however, manage to export all my Bookmarks and have stored them in a file on my desktop. So both Firefox and Brave give me similar problems in attempting searches.
     
  6. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    First Name:
    Douglas
    Briteguy:- Well, they say that patience is a virtue! I closed and reopened my system a couple of times - and suddenly find that by using Brave as my web browser, everything has fallen into place! Anything I type shows correct and true, and all my programs and bookmarks are readily available to me! I have spent the last four-plus hours just trying things out and am very happy with the results. I will naturally continue to monitor this over the next few days, but fingers crossed I have now got to where I want things. I presume that it will do no harm to leave the exported bookmarks in their backup file which can simply be maintained on my desktop, in the event that I ever need it in future? But so far - so good! Will not mark this thread as solved quite yet, but will keep an eye on it. Now almost 7.30 in the morning here in the UK, so some sleep is called for! Thanks for all your help, and best regards.
     
  7. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    18,421
    First Name:
    Liz
    I export my bookmarks every few months and archive on a USB stick. That insures you won't be fumbling to find bookmarks should they disappear. You simply import from your archive into the browser. (You might lose a few if you don't backup very often but that is preferable to losing all of them.)
     
  8. britekguy

    britekguy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    374
    One thing I strongly suggest anyone using Windows 10 do is to turn OFF Fast Startup. The number of really bizarre issues that can crop up if the hiberfile.sys "partial hibernation" file used by that feature becomes corrupted are myriad. One can cause it to be purged by doing a Restart, but most people don't know this. In addition, at least for myself, when I shut down I want the machine shut down and not reloading anything in regard to the prior system state when it next fires up.

    If you have a machine with an SSD it does virtually nothing in regard to making startup any faster but allows for the possibility of hiberfile.sys corruption and the attendant problems.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    To turn Fast Start off, do the following:
    1. Open Control Panel then select Power Options. This is presuming that you’re using the classic “Small Icons” view in Control Panel. If not, navigate to the “View by” control and select “Small Icons,” then navigate to Power Options.
    2. Activate the Choose what the power button does link on the left side of the dialog.
    3. In the dialog just opened, activate Change settings that are currently unavailable link.
    4. Scroll down to the Shutdown settings section.
    5. Remove the check mark from the Turn on Fast Startup (Recommended) checkbox.
    6. Select the Save Changes Button.

    Additional Information

    Another name for the Fast Startup is Hybrid Boot.

    With a full shutdown everything is closed and nothing is saved.

    When the Fast Startup is enabled and the computer is shut down, the User Session is closed, but the Kernel Session is Hibernated. You are not doing a full shutdown, but a partial shutdown and partial hibernation.

    From a Microsoft Forum discussion regarding Fast Startup:

    [Redacted by britekguy: Apparently the passage previously quoted goes beyond what TSG considers quotable under fair use, and I could no longer find the source of it for love nor money, as I found it several years ago. Do a web search on "Hybrid Boot" or "Fast Startup" and there are numerous references that describe what happens 'under the hood.]
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2019
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,411
    Brian,

    Please refer to the following section of the site rules regarding quoting sources:
    Please edit your post accordingly and take note for future reference as well. Thanks for understanding.
     
  10. dougglos

    dougglos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,135
    First Name:
    Douglas
    plodr:- Thanks for the suggestion re archiving Bookmarks! I have set a diary schedule to remind me to do just that every three months. It is fair to say that I don't raise new bookmarks all that often, but will carry it out anyway!
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    Why use Bing for searches? Anyways, it seems the common issue is with Bing, not the browser since you had a similar issue with Brave. Is the searching down in the toolbar?
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,138
    First Name:
    David
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235423

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice