bing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

katesdad

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
8
i use firefox every once in a while..when i try to use bing [your connection is not secure'www.bing.com'has configured their web site improperly] plus [sec_error_unknown_issurer]..why would this happen..i figure firefax is trying to lean u to google..ya think! please,what can i do to fix?...katesdad
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,202
First Name
Liz
You don't fix it. It is simply stating that the site you wish to go to is not true https. This means the communication between your browser and the site is not encrypted.
Firefox tries to use https on all sites; when it fails, you'll get the warning. Ignore the warning and go to the site you want.
 

katesdad

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
8
You don't fix it. It is simply stating that the site you wish to go to is not true https. This means the communication between your browser and the site is not encrypted.
Firefox tries to use https on all sites; when it fails, you'll get the warning. Ignore the warning and go to the site you want.
there is no way to do that..u can't ignore the warning! no bing on firefox,..[googlefags]
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,202
First Name
Liz
That's what I said in post #2 - there is no fix.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
you fix it by signing in to Bing using your Microsoft account. select settings ( the 3 bars at top right of page) uncheck the 2 bottom entries, show home page image and shows news & interests, then press the refresh button ( it might work if not signed in and just using settings, until you delete the cookies)

It is normally the news & interests section that causes the SSl error. Bing uses base64 encoded data:text elements that firefox doesn't recognize as being https

You can keep the home page image if you like, but many turn it off

2018-05-18_00-18-53.png
 
Last edited:

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
the other thing that can & does frequently cause the "sec_error_unknown_issuer.." message is your antivirus or security suite using SSL scanning and their selfsigned man in the middle certificate is not being recognized

What Antivirus do you use?
 

katesdad

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
8
i don't use anti virus ...i am not a member of microsoft or bing..or google...
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
try changing the settings without signing in
 

katesdad

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
8
i shut down windows defender...everything is good now..thanx to plodr.i new there was a better answer than what u gave me in post#2..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top