BIOS adjusting

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sharker

I have recently discovered about improving the pefrormance of a computer by adjusting the BIOS. However when I rebooted and got into tne BIOS by pressing del I found that apart from disks and things, I couldn't really adjust anything.

I heard that shift F1 might bring up the right menu but it did nothing.

Any idea how to make adjustents? (I've never done it before.)

Do you know where can I download a free benchmark test program?

Sharker

Hi Whitestar.

My computer is about 1 and a bit years old. It's a P3 1Ghz 256Mb

I'm not sure what motherbord it has.

Yeah. It depends mainly on ur mobo and bios wether u can increase performance by changing settings in the bios.

Sharker,

If you download AIDA32 from the site above it will give you a full profile of all the hardware and software (incl. drivers) currently installed in your pc.

Once you have it - click the desktop shortcut - then in the program click the 'system icon' - then click 'summary'.

Sometimes certain cmos's (I am always technically correct with this bios vs cmos terminology, lol) have a special hotkey that will bring up an advanced cmos menu after you have entered the basic settings menung up your advanced menu. Usually shift+ctrl or mething or other. I have seen several boot screens that don't even tell you that it exists.

Sharker

((Yes my systems working properly, I just wanted to optimise it!))

Ok then, I downloaded aida32 and have been trying to work out what it all means. I have discovered the following but don't know what to do with it!

CPU Type Intel Pentium IIIE, 1000 MHz (7.5 x 133)
Motherboard Name Intel Easton 2 D815EEA2 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM, Audio, Video)
Motherboard Chipset Intel Solano i815E
System Memory 256 MB (PC133 SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (05/09/01)

BIOS Properties: