1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS adjusting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sharker, Oct 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sharker

    Sharker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    I have recently discovered about improving the pefrormance of a computer by adjusting the BIOS. However when I rebooted and got into tne BIOS by pressing del I found that apart from disks and things, I couldn't really adjust anything.

    I heard that shift F1 might bring up the right menu but it did nothing.

    Any idea how to make adjustents? (I've never done it before.)

    Do you know where can I download a free benchmark test program?
     
  2. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    What u found the first time is all u can change.

    How old is the computer?
     
  3. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
  4. Sharker

    Sharker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Hi Whitestar.

    My computer is about 1 and a bit years old. It's a P3 1Ghz 256Mb

    I'm not sure what motherbord it has.
     
  5. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Yeah. It depends mainly on ur mobo and bios wether u can increase performance by changing settings in the bios.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Is your system running correctly?????
     
  7. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Sharker,

    If you download AIDA32 from the site above it will give you a full profile of all the hardware and software (incl. drivers) currently installed in your pc.

    Once you have it - click the desktop shortcut - then in the program click the 'system icon' - then click 'summary'.
     
  8. hammerbill

    hammerbill

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    423
    Sometimes certain cmos's (I am always technically correct with this bios vs cmos terminology, lol) have a special hotkey that will bring up an advanced cmos menu after you have entered the basic settings menung up your advanced menu. Usually shift+ctrl or mething or other. I have seen several boot screens that don't even tell you that it exists.
     
  9. Sharker

    Sharker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    ((Yes my systems working properly, I just wanted to optimise it!))

    Ok then, I downloaded aida32 and have been trying to work out what it all means. I have discovered the following but don't know what to do with it!

    CPU Type Intel Pentium IIIE, 1000 MHz (7.5 x 133)
    Motherboard Name Intel Easton 2 D815EEA2 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM, Audio, Video)
    Motherboard Chipset Intel Solano i815E
    System Memory 256 MB (PC133 SDRAM)
    BIOS Type AMI (05/09/01)

    BIOS Properties:
    Vendor Intel Corp.
    Version EA81520A.86A.0019.P12.0105091420
    Release Date 05/09/2001
    Size 512 KB
    Boot Devices Floppy Disk, Hard Disk, CD-ROM, ATAPI ZIP, LS-120
    Capabilities Flash BIOS, Shadow BIOS, Selectable Boot, EDD, BBS
    Supported Standards DMI, APM, ACPI, ESCD, PnP
    Expansion Capabilities PCI, AGP, USB

    Motherboard Properties:
    Manufacturer Intel Corporation
    Product D815EEA2
    Version AAA45156-206
    Serial Number ABEA12107255

    I have looked at http://www.pcpitstop.com/ it looks good but unfortunately I can only connect to the net through a little XDA pocket PC. So I can't really use the site.

    As to looking for a hidden screen in the BIOS, I tried SHIFT-F1 and CTRL-SHIFT by to no avail. It may be that I just can't adjust the things I want to, as Whitestar has said. Do you think thats right?
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Your bios is saving you from yourself. Some older bios setups just don't have too many adjustments ;)

    If it's not broken.............don't fix it til it is ;)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170507

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice