bios keeps on resetting

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

madsison

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
7
hello, need help, my problem is bios wont set may time and date keeps on resetting, am running windows 7 ultimate licensed, everytime i start my dsktop pc i got a blank screen, if i reset my bios thru jumper setting then i start my pc it will display and ask to run bios set up or load default setting. If choose run cmos set up and set my time & date then restart i get a blank screen, if choose load default setting windows 7 will start and everything run smoothly. thn if i restart or shutdown my computer it goes back to blank screen and do it again resetting the cmos and it will ask again run set up or load default setting, tried changing my battery still the same. can anyone hp me with this problem any help will gratly appreciated. thanx.
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
What are the system specs?
More info will be greatly appreciated.
 

madsison

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
7
my desktop specs are:
AMD Athlon 64 LE1640, 2.70ghz processor
ASUS mainboard Socket AM2
2 gb RAM
DVD writer
via chipset

thanx for replying
 

madsison

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
7
maybe its time to change my mainboad.........although its only 1yr. old board
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
2,311
Sounds like your motherboard battery is not connected. I know you said you have changed the battery, but that is not what I am inferring. If your battery is not connected, and some motherboards may have a jumper to disconnect the battery, then it is not being used. Since you've been in the motherboard area, perhaps you removed, or incorrectly installed, a jumper.
 

madsison

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
7
yest its custom build I assembled it myself, my mobo model number is ASUS M2V-MX SE, VIA K8M890 chipset I think, for the battery I think i installed it correctly and the jumper setting is set correctly, anyways thanx for the reply
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
2,311
Looking at the ASUS website for your motherboard, there is one titled "M2V-MX SE user’s manual (English)"
In that manual, on page 1-21 (section 1.9) Titled "Jumpers"

See if your "Clear RTC" jumper is across the 1-2 pins.

Sorry, I don't see any other jumpers that I believe would be involved with your reported problem. I did not see the sort of info for a jumper that I had mentioned earlier.
 

madsison

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
7
I tried doing what the manual says and its still the same. i think its about time to change my mobo. Thank you very much to everybody who answered my query.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top