1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved BIOS - Legacy set to Disabled?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by larryh10000, Feb 1, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. larryh10000

    larryh10000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 18362, Installed 20190709233613.000000-420
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @ 3.10GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7, CPU Count: 4
    Total Physical RAM: 8 GB
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Hard Drives: C: 585 GB (527 GB Free);
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2AC2, ver 2.00, s/n 114082020010781
    System: AMI, ver HPQOEM - 1072009, s/n MXX212010H
    Antivirus: Norton Security, Enabled and Updated

    I have created a bootable flash drive with a copy of Windows 10 on it using the Windows 10 Media Creation Tool.
    I will be buying a new SSD soon to replace my 8 year old failing mechanical hard drive.
    So once I remove the old hard drive and install the new SSD I can just pop the flash drive in and start the computer and boot into the BIOS and change the boot order so it will boot from the USB and the Windows 10 installation should begin to run and I would just follow the prompts.
    However, looking in my BIOS I notice the "Legacy" setting is set to Disabled - Should that be Enabled?
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,879
    My laptop BIOS has a legacy setting also. No you don't need to enable it. Windows setup will automatically detect the non-legacy setting and install accordingly.
     
  3. larryh10000

    larryh10000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Thanks for the reply - much appreciated!
     
  4. zebanovich

    zebanovich

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    323
    From my experience installing on a SSD in UEFI mode requires CSM module to be on.
    Otherwise you won't even see your SSD as listed in BIOS.
     
  5. larryh10000

    larryh10000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    I guess we have a difference of opinion on this. I guess I first try not enabling the Legacy and see if the SSD will show up, if not I'll go ahead enable it. Thanks for your reply!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1239597

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice