1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS lockout...need supervisor password

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Nigelum, Jul 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nigelum

    Nigelum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Hello all,

    I'm in a bit of a bind. I'm working on a computer that needs the boot order changed, so I can install an OS upgrade (2000 to XP Pro) and I can't get into the BIOS without the supervisor password. The individual who had/worked on the computer before has long gone, so that option is out. The default stuff won't work (admin, exec, password...and so on). I seem to remember that you can dislodge the battery, or switch the jumpers (although different motherboards might have different stuff), but It's been several years since I've had this problem and I can't remember the solution.

    Any and all help would be appreciated.
     
  2. DougS

    DougS

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Not quite sure that'll be crackable. It'll depend on the mobo.
     
  3. mecury_2001

    mecury_2001

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,808
    Open up the case and remove the battery for about 5 minutes then replace it .
    this will clear the cmos and restore everything to it's default

    there will be no password to get into the bios after you put the battery back in.

    the battery looks like a watch battery only bigger (about the size of a quarter)
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,636
    Just clear cmos. You can do this with the clear cmos jumper or by removing the battery. Either way remove the power cord [to remove all power] press the power button [to remove residual charge from ps capacitors] Now pull the side cover and move the jumper to the clear position. This will take 15-30 seconds to clear cmos. When you have finished, you will need to enter the bios and make sure settings are correct. When you do this it reverts to defaults.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/246768

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice