1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bios & mb upgrade no dmi

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by qcity, Oct 25, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I have a problem with sblive sound card working on my pc.Talked to creative & they said to get lastest mb drivers & bios.
    I ran a program to find out what versions I am running & program tells me it can't find valid dmi.Can someone explain this & point me to the drivers & bios I need. Thanks
    BIOS CAPABILITIES TEST REPORT
    ===============================

    Generated by: BIOS Wizard 2.10
    Date: October 25, 2001
    Time: 18:00

    PnP Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 1.0
    PCI Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 2.1
    PCI IRQ Routing Table : BIOS currently supports this feature
    Enhanced Disk Drive
    Specification : BIOS currently supports this feature
    DMI Version : Valid DMI is not found
    ACPI Version : BIOS currently supports latest version 1.0
    APM Version : APM BIOS not installed. It has been replaced by
    ACPI
    Booting From CD-ROM : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Supports ESCD : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Can be Updated (flashed) : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Can be Shadowed : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    BIOS Chip in Socket : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Supports Selective Booting : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Supports LS-120 Booting : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Supports ZIP Booting : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    Supports Network Booting : Unable to test this feature because DMI is not
    found
    BIOS Manufacturer : Award Modular BIOS v6.00PGN
    BIOS ID : 10/12/2000-8363-686A-6A6LML19C-00
    BIOS Date : 10/12/00
    BIOS OEM Signon : K7VAT(S)-A2
    BIOS ROM Size : Unknown
    Chipset : VIA 82C305 rev 2
    Super I/O Chip : VIA 686 found at 0h:7h:0h
    :(
     
  2. Jest8

    Jest8

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    243
    Who manufatured your P.C? Most of the big makers tweak the BIOS enough so that if you do flash the bios with the wrong bios upgrade (even if come from Award/phoenix) you might start having problem.
     
  3. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  4. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I've been to those pages Brian but wasn't sure what was up with no dmi...Would the 4in1 drivers install it or is it like a .vxd file[generated]
     
  5. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Sorry, misunderstood your original question.

    I don't believe the 4 in 1's will fix it.

    I really am not sure but my quess is that in you bios you have pnp os set to no.

    But it's just a guess
     
  6. Jest8

    Jest8

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    243
    What program did you use to generate the BIOS test? And what was the problem you were having with your sound card?
     
  7. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I used bios wizard 2.1..Screen would freeze on bootup at desktop.
     
  8. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Weird... How about trying, in BIOS, to reset to factory settings. Then Save and Exit.

    After reboot try the wizard thing again. DMI is pretty important, lots of things use it to read information about your system setup.
     
  9. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I ran bios wizard before I reset defaults & after. Still same results.
     
  10. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Well, it is possible that this program simply doesn't work correctly with your BIOS.

    Other than sound, are there any problems with your machine? Any ! in Device Manager?
     
  11. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I have the sb16 soundcard in now with no problems.When I have the soundblaster live value card in the screen freezes at desktop about 80 % of the time..No messages sometimes it will reboot itself & sometimes it freezes & I have to reboot it...This is a system I put together myself with a 900mhz athlon & ati rage fury pro video card.this is the letter I received from creative about it. Support Request Message Thread:





    Response from Creative: 10/23/01 8:41:31 AM

    Jim,

    The first step you will take is checking the IRQ list. To do this you will need to go
    to the DEVICE MANAGER. Not presuming anything else I will provide step by step
    instructions.

    Click on START > SETTINGS > CONTROL PANEL. Double click on SYSTEM.
    Click the DEVICE MANAGER tab. The top listing is computer. Double click on
    computer. This should take you to the properties of the computer showing two
    tabs; View resources and Reserve resources. Make sure the View Resources, with
    the interrupt request (IRQ) is selected.

    When you open have this selected, the window below shows a list of numbers. The
    following is a SAMPLE of what an IRQ list can look like with a VIA Chipset. This is
    for Windows 95, 98, and ME only:

    03 com2
    04 com1
    05 SB 16 Emulation
    07 printer port
    09 acpi bus
    10 SB live Series
    10 Via USB to PCI Host controller
    10 holder for PCI Steering
    11 video card
    11 holder for pci steering
    12 mouse
    14 via busmaster
    14 primary ide controller
    15 via busmaster
    15 secondary ide controller

    REMEMBER THIS IS JUST A SAMPLE. Should the SB 16 Emulation appear in
    this list, you will need to do re-route this device to use another IRQ. To do this,
    click the OK button on the bottom of this window. This will take you back to Device
    Manger. Click the plus sign next to CREATIVE MISCELLANEOUS DEVICES.
    Double click Creative SB 16 Emulation. Click on the settings tab> Look down the
    page to Advanced settings and put a check mark in the box next to Allow LPT
    Interrupt Sharing and click on Apply. Click on the OK button and restart your
    computer to allow the change to take effect.

    If you do not have the SB 16 Emulation, or you have just restarted from re-routing
    this device, go back to Device Manger and check the IRQ list again. Make mental
    note of the listing in IRQ 14. This will indicate the chipset used by your
    motherboard. Please make sure you have the latest motherboard driver and BIOS
    updates applied. Check to see where the sound card is listed. It should be in an
    IRQ alone or just with an IRQ Holder. If it is not, then you have an IRQ conflict.
    Moving the sound to a different PCI slot normally changes the irq it is assigned to,
    exception some pci slots share resources, depending upon Motherboard.

    If moving the card to a different slot and disabling resources in the BIOS do not
    resolve this IRQ conflict, then please respond with a copy of your IRQ list.

    Bradley
    Creative Labs Technical Support






    Reply to Creative
     
  12. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I put the sblive card back in and did what creative said with the irq's..I restarted 4 times & it froze once but new settings will do that at first on here.Will let you guy's know..Thanks
     
  13. qcity

    qcity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    79
    I probably should have listed this as a reboot problem but after I fought this for 6 months I decided to get rid of it one way or another.Tried different sound card but no help so found this on the net.
    Windows 98 hangs or reboots during startup or at desktop!

    One user who is a small system builder has reported that renaming drvwppqt.vxd and drvwq117.vxd solves the problem. They experienced the problem on motherboards from seven different manufacturers and found the above solution to be successful.

    I believe if you load the dvd drivers for the ATI card & don't have a dvd player it generates these vxd's & reboots or freezes when it can't load them..I have been problem free for a week now. hallelujah. Still had to disable the SB 16 drivers in device manager to prevent freezes.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/56673

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice