1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bios missing options

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xXComputerGuyXx, Jun 6, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    I am running...
    Sony vaio (pcg71913l)
    Windows 10
    Intel i7 2720qm
    8gb ram
    1TB
    Bios: INSYDE R0200Z9

    This happened before i even upgraded my processor or even my ram, its missing options like uefi/legacy mode, and other type of stuff. I have the latest version of the bios, and i even tried resetting it by taking out the battery from the mother board, although it didnt work. It would be great if someone can help me out. If you need pictures, dont hesitate. Thanks in advance!

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  2. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,458
    The BIOS you have is the one that Sony have installed. Most of the big box manufacturers (and that includes Sony) provide a version of bios that has some elements disabled on purpose, as they dont want you changing some settings. this stops untrained users from mucking around, changing something essential, breaking the computer and then taking it back as broken- which if you think about it is pretty fair really.
    Hopefully that answers your question- there is nothing broken, its the way sony have designed it.
     
    xXComputerGuyXx likes this.
  3. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,230
    First Name:
    Andrew
    xXComputerGuyXx, Gulo is quite right. You likely have an OEM (Sony) BIOS , which as stated almost ALWAYS disables certain settings. It likely is just an OEM BIOS and no issues with it.
     
    xXComputerGuyXx likes this.
  4. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Aaaa well... it used to have those options.. but ok thanks anyways! :)

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  5. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,230
    First Name:
    Andrew
    You said you have the latest version of BIOS, correct? Did you install the newest version AFTER the issue in hopes to fix it?
     
  6. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    .... good question... i am really not sure...this happed a while ago... But its alright, as long as everything is running fine, thank you metallica5456 and Gulo Luseus

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  7. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    I remember using those settings

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  8. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks again ;)

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  9. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,230
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Cheers. :)

    What I was getting at, and it's just a thought, was that it's possible that the OEM had some of those options open in the beginning and then might have had issues where people were chanigning the settings not knowing exactly what they were doing so in the new patches they locked those settings. :)
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,239
    The above is correct. Bios updates very often include new options OR remove options. While it is technically possible to edit the bios file and have those options back, it would cost you about as much as a new laptop.
    Editing a bios file requires a pretty high level of skill. One incorrect keystroke and your bios can be corrupted ie unbootable.

    Are you sure you have looked in all of the menus/sub menus for whatever setting you want? It is not uncommon to move or change options.
     
  11. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Yeah, i am sure not many options left though

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  12. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Here, some pics of my bios, sorry for the pic quality[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  13. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  14. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    As far as i know, there is nothing useful info about my laptop, so i think i am safe

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  15. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Like some serious/crucial info data

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1191054

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice