1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS not Fully acpi compliant

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gecbian, Mar 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gecbian

    gecbian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Guys!

    I have a Dell laptop with version A8 Bios and I was trying to Install a second os windows server'03 in it through bootable DVD.but on booting an blue screen with error flashed "Your Bios not Fully acpi compliant".Update your bios by contacting the system vendor.I though bios like firmware doesnot need any updates at all.More over Some of my friends said It is very risky to update the Bios.It may lead to severe problems If any flaw in Updation happens. What to do now? I really want to install the second os. In windows the installation demands to get start only from bootup..

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,903
    First Name:
    Rob
    Server is not really designed to run a laptop.

    Also, you neglected to tell us what laptop you have, the exact model and service tag would be useful.

    BIOS updates are release all the time for add features, fix bugs, add new support for hardware, or change the system behavior. There is always some risk in updating the BIOS because if it goes wrong you can end up with a dead brick.
     
  3. gecbian

    gecbian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Mine is Dell Inspiron 14 R 5420 Runs windows Hpremium.For a project work I need to install a server os.So you saying server oses are not for laptops?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,903
    First Name:
    Rob
    They may work, but definitely nobody designs or tests Server O/S's on laptops.

    For that matter, Windows 2003 is pretty old, it doesn't even run on some new servers(hardware).

    You may be better off installing it in a virtual environment such as VirtualBox, Virtual PC, or any such virtualization software.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1092851

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice