1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS password ?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by radio1133, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. radio1133

    radio1133 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Hi all. I'm trying to help a friend set up a computer for his kid.
    From what he tells me, it use to have win95 on it. But when he would fire it up today, non sys disk, insert boot disk. You all should know all that.I had him make a boot disk off of another win95 that he was able to boot up.Now hes telling me the bios screen want a password.Im talking over the phone with him, so, I cant see whats going on. But, from what I remember, is that you remove the battery, it should go back to defaults and remove the password. Is that correct? or is there another way around this. Its only a 233Mhz system that he wants for his girl. Oh, its a HP/ pbell. He want to install win98 on it. I'm not sure this even has enough cpu to do this. I know this might not be enough info, but, until I go to his house, I cant get it from him( im not the brightest, but he is worst then I am LOL ).

    Thanks, Joe
     
  2. robert2513

    robert2513

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Hello

    Sometimes there is a jumper on the motherboard that will reset the BIOS password. You'll have to check the manual of the computer to find it.

    I'm not sure if removing the battery for a period of time will reset the password. I've never tried it. Maybe someone else can help you on that point.

    Good Luck.
    Robert2513
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Usually removing the battery for 20-30 minutes will also reset the password.
     
  4. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Pulling the battery should return everything to factory specs. 15/20 mins will do the trick!
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Guess the redundancy can't hurt ;-)
     
  6. radio1133

    radio1133 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    OK I'll have him try removing the battery.
    Thanks for the help.
    Joe
     
  7. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Doesn't sound like a bios password to me.
    Windows wouldn't boot up before a bios password.

    It might be a logon arrangement ?
     
  8. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Win98 and Win98se have a minimum req on ram,
    I think its 64 megs, but i might be wrong.

    Win95 will run with only a few kilobytes of ram.
     
  9. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Its 16 megs min ram, not 64 (excuse me)
    I should think that would be met.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330156

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice