bios problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

someone2003

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2003
Messages
3
i have and old Pentium 2 with Intel chipset,
i tried to update my bios by getting the newer version from the site, but after i finished the update i restart the computer and didn't work, so, maybe i just update the bios with a wrong model or version,, so is there anyway to fix the problem ?
like removing the update or anythin ?
however i wonder how this gonna happed while i can't see anythin in the screen !!

i need help

thanx
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
The first thing you should try is to clear the CMOS by using the CLEAR CMOS jumper or by temporarily removing the CMOS battery.

Beyond that you're going to need a new chip, motherboard, or to find someone with a flash programmer.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome, any particular reason for feeling the need to flash the bios to begin with????
 

someone2003

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2003
Messages
3
thanx for reply but i'd like to know what the mean of "flash programmer" ?


actually i was updating my bios to support 40 HDD or above.

thanx
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
728
If you flashed the bios and your system is not functioning at all besides the power being on. Chances are you probably flashed it with the incorrect bios. This is something you cannot make a mistake on. It has to be the correct one otherwise the motherboard is nothing but a paperweight. There are exceptions to that rule, but were talking about the most current boards and not a pentium 2 motherboard.

The term flash programmer is a machine which programs the instructions onto the bios chip. If by chance you flashed your bios with the incorrect one. Unless you can find the exact same motherboard you can swap the chips. Otherwise the flash programmer is your only option to restore your bios.

You can check this out
http://www.biosworld.com

Sorry for your loss.....
TC
Rockinmale:cool:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top