BIOS Question?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Petlydecker

I am considering a BIOS update to help me with my new 2.0 USB card. I have some computer knowledge but I have never attempted a BIOS upgrade before. The DFI site that makes my motherboard gives instructions of the commands to input, to complete the BIOS update. I am just wondering what the chances are of something going wrong if I follow their directions? Also, will the settings I have already made in my existing BIOS still be there or will those changes be erased? If anyone can give me some advice I would truly appreciate it. Also, sorry if I posted this question in the wrong forum area.

Thank you.

Like everything else ( computing wise) it can go wrong....:D ..
But on a average ( i'll say 99% ) there isn't a problem "flashing" the BIOS.
Just couple of thing to keep in mind:
1. Never power down , unless you see it on the screen
2. Always boot with a "clean " boot disk ( the one that you it will only start basic DOS without any other stuff ( i.e , cd rom driver, memory managers, mouse drivers etc..)
3. Always wait for the BIOS to finish ( once the "flashing " is done will see on the monitor " Press F1 or Reset your computer)
4. If you don't see instruction mentioned above , after a 1 min or so , then you might have a problem
5. Yes you will loose the BIOS settings after the flash so it's always a good ideea to write down all the settings before you flash/update the BIOS
HTH

You shouldn't need to update your BIOS to install a USB 2 card.
You should just be able to install the card, install the drivers, and go...

Once in a great while the BIOS update goes bad....if you've saved the old BIOS, you should be fine.
The program should give you that option.

All the changes will be gone - BIOS will be set to default settings.

Status