1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bios settings

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by andygt, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    i got a problem all my bios settings are all wrong and set at "0" how can i find all the right settings also half of my files are missing because of this i have tried to load the drivers disk but comes up with ms-dos has been terminated!!

    can any one help me?

    i got a patriot comptuer model number, pk 500-20
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Good morning

    Please try to explain things a little better. What do you mean by BIOS settings? Why do you say files are missing. What operating system are you using?
     
  3. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    i am running windows 98se
    what is happing is every thing is set at auto on the settings
    when the computer is turn on it all settings at master not slave
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Could you post what you see in BIOS concerning your drives when you boot up?
     
  5. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    more for you,
    type size cyls head procomp landz sector mode
    primary master auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
    slave auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
    secondary master auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
    slave auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto

    hope this helps
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    When you go into Windows are all of your drives listed and identified correctly?
     
  7. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    not sure,
    were will i find it?

    when i put a driver disk in it comes up with ms-dos has been termintered!
    so i can set every thing back to normal
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    There are a couple of ways. Go into control panel/system/hardware/device mananger. Click on disk drives and CD drives and see if your drives are listed. Also check in My Computer you should see all your drives.

    Do you know if BIOS ever reported your drives differently?
     
  9. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    just had a look this is what it says


    generic ide disk tyre 47
    generic ide floppy disk

    i got a maxtor hard drive 40gb but when some did it for me it put 2 jumpers
    when starting up first time it get to a bit say press f4 to skip but can not do nothing
    then he missed around with one of the bios settings that why i have lost some bits
    i on it now
     
  10. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Do you know how many hard drives you are supposed to have in your computer. What did the person helping you do? Add a new hard drive (replacing the old one) or add a hard drive and you also kept your original one?
     
  11. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    the old hard drive went and he put a new harddrive in
    i am only have to have the one hard drive only
    and also formatted it as well

    i can not even move the bar in the display setting 640 by 480 i have no colours
     
  12. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I'm not sure that there is any problem in BIOS. I couldn't find much info on your system, but it's possible that's just how it displays things.

    If a new hard drive was put in it's probable that some of the software ("drivers") that are needed to make everything work, like the video were not reinstalled. Do you have a CD that came with your system?
     
  13. andygt

    andygt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    no i lost that i only have windows 98 se disk and the driver disk for the computer
    reinstalled the video i can do that now and see what happens?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324564

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice