bios settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
i got a problem all my bios settings are all wrong and set at "0" how can i find all the right settings also half of my files are missing because of this i have tried to load the drivers disk but comes up with ms-dos has been terminated!!

can any one help me?

i got a patriot comptuer model number, pk 500-20
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Good morning

Please try to explain things a little better. What do you mean by BIOS settings? Why do you say files are missing. What operating system are you using?
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
i am running windows 98se
what is happing is every thing is set at auto on the settings
when the computer is turn on it all settings at master not slave
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
more for you,
type size cyls head procomp landz sector mode
primary master auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
slave auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
secondary master auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto
slave auto 0 0 0 0 0 0 auto

hope this helps
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
When you go into Windows are all of your drives listed and identified correctly?
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
not sure,
were will i find it?

when i put a driver disk in it comes up with ms-dos has been termintered!
so i can set every thing back to normal
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
There are a couple of ways. Go into control panel/system/hardware/device mananger. Click on disk drives and CD drives and see if your drives are listed. Also check in My Computer you should see all your drives.

Do you know if BIOS ever reported your drives differently?
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
just had a look this is what it says


generic ide disk tyre 47
generic ide floppy disk

i got a maxtor hard drive 40gb but when some did it for me it put 2 jumpers
when starting up first time it get to a bit say press f4 to skip but can not do nothing
then he missed around with one of the bios settings that why i have lost some bits
i on it now
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Do you know how many hard drives you are supposed to have in your computer. What did the person helping you do? Add a new hard drive (replacing the old one) or add a hard drive and you also kept your original one?
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
the old hard drive went and he put a new harddrive in
i am only have to have the one hard drive only
and also formatted it as well

i can not even move the bar in the display setting 640 by 480 i have no colours
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I'm not sure that there is any problem in BIOS. I couldn't find much info on your system, but it's possible that's just how it displays things.

If a new hard drive was put in it's probable that some of the software ("drivers") that are needed to make everything work, like the video were not reinstalled. Do you have a CD that came with your system?
 

andygt

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
25
no i lost that i only have windows 98 se disk and the driver disk for the computer
reinstalled the video i can do that now and see what happens?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top