1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS setup

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kwill152001, Feb 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kwill152001

    kwill152001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    i am wondering how i get into the BIOS setup for my computer to enable one of my drives.
    I have tried hitting all the 'F' keys but i still dont know how.
    I am using a PC that is an antec SX630 make.
    If anyone has any info please let us know

    Kieran
     
  2. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    Welcome to TSG

    Try the DEL key. Watch your screen during boot and it may show for sure what key just under the memory count on first screen.
     
  3. kwill152001

    kwill152001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    ive tried the DEL key but there is no details of setup on screen. I have tried all the function keys but it just boots straight into windows 2000.
     
  4. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
  5. kwill152001

    kwill152001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    thanks - but ive tried every one of those combinations and nothing comes up
     
  6. kwill152001

    kwill152001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    im running an antec system which is not listed on the site you gave me (it could also be G9)
     
  7. mtbird

    mtbird

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,687
    If you don't know what bios you have, go here..........

    http://belarc.com/free_download.html

    download the Advisor program. Run it and it will tell you what bios you have. Maybe then you can find the correct access key(s).

    Debe
     
  8. kwill

    kwill

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    ive downloaded and installed it - but whereabouts on it does it tell you your BIOS? It tells me quite alot, but I cant see my BIOS on it
     
  9. kwill

    kwill

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    sorry - i changed my login thing, um .. on it - it has the motherboard BIOS , but it doesn't have the one that lets you get into setup.
     
  10. mtbird

    mtbird

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,687
    It won't tell you the access key, just the name of the bios. Which bios do you have (Award, AMI, etc.) ?


    Debe
     
  11. kwill

    kwill

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    it says BIOS -intel corp
     
  12. mtbird

    mtbird

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,687
    Here's another list of access keys....

    http://www.bowe.co.uk/support.php?ID=8

    The Intel listed here uses DEL. Sometimes it's a matter of timing for pressing the keys. As soon as it starts to boot, hold down the del key.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117502

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice