Bios Update Gone Wrong. URGENT HELP NEEDED

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
I updated the bios for my computer and when i retsarted the computer it just starts up and alls i can hear is the fan spinning and the screen doesnt come up

Can anyone help me out please?
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Howdy,

Can you set the bios to default by either getting into Bios on startup tapping F2 or DEL or which ever key get you into it or shortening the jumpers on the board for the Cmos battery or taking the Cmos battery out for about 10min and putting it back in.
 

Phil_Crane

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
270
i have doen the battery thing i tried resettin the cmos by switchin the jumper etc tha didn work either, screen doesnt even coem up so i cant press f2 or nothin
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
If you did that Bios update from a floppy on boot up - I'd try that again...

What brand + model are we talking about?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Bad news, you'll need to find someone with a chip flasher to reflash your BIOS chip or have the motherboard warrantied.

However if you're using a seperate PCI-Express video card then take it out and plug into the onboard video.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,343
I agree you are going to either have to replace the bios chip, replace the board, or send the bios chip in to badflash.com and have them reprogram the chip.

If you want to try plugging in a floppy drive and see if your system will access the floppy on boot up. If it does, it is possible to make a blind bios flash disk. This flashes the bios with no input from you; it does not matter if there is no display. The blind flash will take place and you then restart.

Note this ONLY works if the system will access the floppy on bootup.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top