1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bios Update ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by khans, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    :D

    how to update my old Bios with new one ?

    my motherboard is Acer (TX531 V1.0)


    Acer 1543 B1 Acer 1531 B1
    9738 TS6 9737 TS7

    Thanks in advance

    Regards !
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    First, the standard question should be asked.

    Are you trying to correct a known problem with the BIOS update, and a problem for which the maker has issued this update, and a problem that you actually face?

    If not, there is no need to do it.

    You face a finite and real chance of destroying the motherboard if the flash goes wrong. BIOS flashing is not a recreational sport, its a serious and risky venture.
     
  3. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    :( This is the main problem, i had 4.3 GB HD in P-I 200MMX system.

    I have also 13.6 GB in P-III system.

    i want to install windows in this 13.6 HD.

    i have tried to detect this HD but failed. i gor idea to update my Bios.

    HD is Quantum CX 13.6AT (3.5 Series MAX LBA 26760383)

    this is the main problem i m facing.
    Can u help m in this issue ?

    Thanks ..
     
  4. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    could u explain that again and be a little more clear please?
     
  5. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    I told u that i had 4.3 GB Quantum HD

    i want to install Operating system now on this Quantum 13.6 HD ...

    I have no other HD right now in P-I..


    I use P-III system.
     
  6. batharoy

    batharoy

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    I did a little searching on google and the American Megatrends website,
    (thats the manufacturer of your motherboard) and I have to say you will
    have very little chance of finding a BIOS upgrade for that old of a system.
    Your best bet is to partition that hard drive to 2-3 smaller partitions to
    get the BIOS to read it.
     
  7. techkid

    techkid

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339
    First Name:
    David
    Did you check the jumper settings on the hard disk? One has to be set to slave, otherwise you could quite probably wipe your original hard disk.
     
  8. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    I have already make a partition of 15% and remaining is 85 %

    I have make this partition on P-III system.


    now i have turned HD to P-I but its not detecting automically ..
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You may have to use manual settings and key in the heads/cylinders, etc. from the top of the drive.

    The drive should have come with a disk that contains a software overlay as well, you should use that to set the drive up with initially. You can choose not to install the overlay, but it should at least give you access to that drive on that computer. Usually it's not wise to set it up on a different computer.
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Updating the BIOS to support larger hard drives is a good reason for a BIOS update.

    You can download the BIOS update from ACER, if available for yout computer.

    Start here: http://global.acer.com/support/ - you can try different global sites as some have older products listed that other don't.
     
  11. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    I killed a mobo with a bios update gone bad for the same reason you are trying to update. I figured cure it or kill it. Dead after update.
    I didn't really care much as I had another mobo and really should have switched them out to begin with. The "update" made me do what I should have done to begin with but I did lose my plans to build my kids their very own little game machine. I now have a mobo that I need a chip for but it will most likely go on a dump run once I get everythinmg sorted out as to what to keep.
     
  12. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Problem is even more complicated now P-II & P-III don't detect this HD..
    i have checked more drives on it they are fine checked cable, ram ,Data cable etc...

    it shows Unknown device in Primary 0 ,1 Secondary 0 ,1

    no sound or power sign shows.

    is it Media problem or something else...

    if it media problem accurs should i change plate of HD with quantum 2.1 GB plate ?


    Help me
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Sounds like its time to put the drive to rest. You don't just replace the platters in a hard drive, pretty much as soon as you open up the drive you'll contaminate the drive and make it useless.
     
  14. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    :( :( I m not using this drive from last 45 or 50 days...

    I am using 6.4 or other small drive...


    what is solution for this Drive ?

    I have only divided Hard Drive 50 % n 50%
     
  15. khans

    khans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    I think that its media card is burnt out...some body told me that u should change media card of this drive...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273316

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice