1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS upgrade went bad, cant boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chrikima, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrikima

    chrikima Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Hi there, who can help, please?

    The computer is only a few weeks old and I had some CPU temperature reading issues with Asus PC Probe 2 and I thought that downloading a newer version PC Probe might do the trick.
    The new PC Probe 2.250 did not install but required for the BIOS version (12/26/2005) to be updated with a BIOS version (09/22/97 or later?). Well, I could find no such thing but decided that the youngest BIOS P5(LGA775) Version 0702 would be fine.
    Not so, the PC no longer boots and I think that some BIOS auto detection of IDE devises are of concern.

    Primary IDE Master [Not Detected]
    Primary IDE Slave [LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-]
    Secondary IDE Master [ST3120023A] <this is actually HD 2, no OS
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]
    Third IDE Master [Not Detected]
    Third IDE Slave [WDC WD2000JS-22MHB] <this is where the OS is, Win XP
    Secondary IDE Master [Not Detected]
    Secondary IDE Slave [Not Detected]

    No trouble booting when hitting (F8) and manually selecting the boot devise.

    Currently I have reinstalled the old BIOS but there were no changes to the above settings, the system will not boot unless I use the manually (F8) and select the boot drive.

    Thank you very much for your effort.

    Chris K.


    PS. Here are a few more PC details:
    Pentium 3.0 Dual Core / WIN XP Home 28 June 2006

    Processor intel Pentium D 930 (Dual Core) 3.0 GHz
    Motherboard ASUS P5V800-MX
    Memory Lemel 1GB 184 pin PC3200 DDR400
    Graphic Controller ASUS Radeon 9550/256MB DDR

    Hard Disk 1 200GB Western Digital SATAII Caviar 7200RPM
    C: Local 29 GB NTFS
    D: Kinder 126 NTFS
    E: Spare 30 NTFS

    Hard Disk 2 120GB Seagate ST: 3120023A SN: 3KA15 LM3
    F: Image 34.4GB NTFS
    G: BackUp 34.1 NTFS
    H: Archive 43.1 NTFS

    Floppy A:
    DVD I:
     
  2. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    so there is nothing on the monitor when you turn on the pc ?
    if you see anything on the monitor it is not the bios , try clearing your cmos, since you have flashed the bios
     
  3. chrikima

    chrikima Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    clearing the cmos must have done the trick - she is all sweet again.
    Thank you much for your help.
    Here in Australia it is 2 AM and now I can go to bed feeling good.
    Thank you again,
    Chris
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486553

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice