1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BIOS Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DMC2, Mar 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Hi all,

    Sorry to bother but I'm having problems installing XP Pro and someone suggested I upgrade my BIOS software.

    I've got a Abit AB-BX6 but not sure which to use.

    http://www.abit.com.tw/page/uk/moth...?pMODEL_NAME=BX6&fMTYPE=Slot 1&pPRODINFO=BIOS

    The problem is that I can't seem to install XP right after the 'Copying Files' then reboot stage. I've managed to get Win98 on there.

    Is it risky to do the BIOS upgrade?

    Should I just use the latest one? Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Ran into this before, turned out it was a memory problem. Try removing some of your memory and try again.
     
  3. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Hmmm....really?

    Do you mean bad stick of DIMM?

    I've managed to install Win98 now though.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    That board does have issues with Windows 2000, hence it would almost certainly have issues with XP as well.

    All the updates are for the same board, they are just different updates. You only need the latest update which is the first from the top.
     
  5. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Ok, cheers. Wish me luck! Will keep you updated.
     
  6. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    It could be bad ram. The same problem I had, I also managed to install 98 and everything was working. Only, when you shut down the computer with windows 98, it would randomly blue screen when it gets to the "It is safe to shut down" screen. Other then that everything was fine. I removed the memory, put in new memory and was able to install XP no problem. Once installed, I put the old memory back in, and XP would freeze during start up.
     
  7. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Thanks for the reply, Ash. Hmm....Guess I'll try removing RAM *sigh* I hate problems like this.
     
  8. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    good luck
     
  9. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Hmm....no good. My 256MB one's in there now. Gonna try a different one. :(
     
  10. DMC2

    DMC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Again, no good. *cries*
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/216189

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice