1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bios upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Wolfeymole, Oct 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Ok I bought a new cdrw the other day and I tried to burn a few files using the latest edition of Nero, but it's coming back saying that the bios is dated 98 when it needs 99.
    Using SIW there is no info as to the mobo maker.
    Here's the shots below.
    How can I up this bios if it's possible?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    If a BIOS flash is what you need...

    That drive should work with your motherboard though.
    I would go through all my drivers and update those first (all legacy drivers possibly, but you should look)

    I have never heard of the year the board was made being the only reason a program wouldn't run.
     
  3. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
  4. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Cheers Loser and thanks Mulder I'll nip to that link now mate.
    This is the msg I get when cranking Nero up.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    Another, safer option might be to just turn off the DMA manager in Nero.

    Don't know for sure if NERO will run perfectly without it or not, but you might at least save your motherboard from certain death. I would say if you lose a disk or two with DMA manager disabled, then flash the BIOS.
     
  6. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    The first time I ever flashed a BIOS that happened. I didn't know jack about computers and forget why I was doing it at the time, but the thing flashed fine--then started to boot up then--poof--the board was gone! :D
     
  7. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    I always try to steere clear of a BIOS flash, some boards are great at being flashed, others really like to fry, and a flash is never gauranteed.

    (On a side note, how is "steere" spelled?)
     
  8. Wolfeymole

    Wolfeymole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Well this old machine is out of the ark anyway but I still need it. I don't want to risk total darkness on a flash.
    Thanks lads. (y)
     
  9. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    Tell us if disabling the DMA manager works out for you.
     
  10. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    steer
     
  11. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,392

    Just outa curiosity .. What brand of Mother was that Mulder?
     
  12. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    Thanks Mulder, My english is horrible!
     
  13. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
  14. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    God, I don't even remember. This was 1999 I believe and this was a computer I had built for me by the people who had set up our office Internet. I recall it was a AMD K-6 350 processor, but don't recall the MOBO. At that time, I didn't know enough to fix it so I brought it to them and they put a new MOBO in it--we upgraded to a Pentuim, 900 or thereabouts as well.
     
  15. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Although I do know that BIOS flashes have become safer than they used to be. With my new ASUS board, the first thing I did was flash it up to the most recent BIOS and you can do it through Windows!!! :eek: Didn't have to do the old copy to floppy and boot to a DOS OS like Win98. It was great!!! (y)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/403950

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice