1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bios utility screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 2pepper2, Jun 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Not used laptop for a bit and when switched on it starts to boot then goes straight to bios setup screen -- normally accessed by f8 or delete. F10 works but press ok and the pc reboots back to screen:mad:. Can only alter date on setup screen. ESC doesn't work. :mad: only F10 and F2 produce a result but screens cannot be used:confused:.Sony vaio VGNA 195EP Win xp pro sp3. 1.5gb ram on two chips one inside 512mb and one underneath 1gb:( Help please
     
  2. TekTime

    TekTime

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    Sounds like a BIOS chip issue.

    If you are able to access the "CMOS battery", you could pull it out for about 30 seconds, then put it back in and see if that solves the problem.
     
  3. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Ok will do that when I get the laptop to bits. Thanks
     
  4. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    At last got to battery. Removed and replaced but no change. Could the battery itself be at fault?
     
  5. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hello again. How's this for strange. Did what had to do with cmos but as reported no change. However reassembled partially and started up and behold all working ok!! Only problem did not connect keyboard. Reconnected and back to original problem What could be wrong with keyboard to cause this fault? No keys appear to be stuck either up or down.
     
  6. TekTime

    TekTime

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    I assuming that you are referring to a USB keyboard? If so, it's possible that your USB ports could be faulty, or the keyboard you are using could be the issue.
     
  7. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi
    Its the keyboard on the laptop connected to m/booard via ribbon. I immediately though that it was keyboard but thinking again could there be a problem via the connection point ie what does it to connect to. Can get new keyboard but expensive if not the problem. Thanks for any other help. Seems destined for recycling! trevor:(
     
  8. TekTime

    TekTime

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    You are probably right, the connection of the keyboard to your laptop may be the problem. You should have it checked out at a shop if you can.
     
  9. 2pepper2

    2pepper2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks will probably have to go local.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/931953

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice