1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bios wont save "auto" setting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shacky, Nov 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shacky

shacky Thread Starter

I have a al440lx board that I have been using on and off for a couple of years. Recently, I decided I would do some upgrading on the computer and use it. I had taken out the hard drive because I thought I might use it on my main system but changed my mind and am looking to put it back in and get the system up and running.

The problem is that I get a "cant find operating system" error. That's no suprise because when you go into setup the primary master, primary slave, secondary master and secondary slave, are all set to "none." Here's the problem, when I change the setting to "auto" it wont save it. In fact, I can change it to any of the other choices and it wont save it. I have tried scrolling to auto and use the esc key and the change isn't there. I tried doing the same but hitting F10 to save and exit and that doesnt work either. I even tried to restore system defaults but I still get "none."

Any ideas on how I can get the "auto" setting to stick?

2. kilowatt1

kilowatt1