Bitmap * Jpeg

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cwc000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
98
I have several scanned photos that are Bitmap Image. Is there a way I can
change these photos to JPEG?
Thanks for your help!!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
cwc000 said:
I have several scanned photos that are Bitmap Image. Is there a way I can
change these photos to JPEG?
Thanks for your help!!
yes right click and choose open with paint and then save as jpeg
 

cwc000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
98
I followed your instructions but I didn't get the option of choosing JPEG.
Only the paint colors etc.

Many thanks for your speedy reply!
 

cwc000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
98
Thanks Bonk,

I perused both links. I am a novice and don't know the language. I am just
going to delete the two photos since they take up too much disk space.

Thanks, this website is really fantastic!!
 
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
74
cwc000 said:
I followed your instructions but I didn't get the option of choosing JPEG.
Only the paint colors etc.

Many thanks for your speedy reply!
just type .jpeg after the name. this only works with simple programs like paint tho.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
109
Drako said:
just type .jpeg after the name. this only works with simple programs like paint tho.
If you want to preserve quality, don't just rename the extension. This can cause the picture to lose quality or not even open.

Open the picture files with one of the image software programs that have been listed and go to File, "Save As"
When the box comes up asking where you want to save it, under the File Name you can change the Save as type.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
cwc000 said:
I followed your instructions but I didn't get the option of choosing JPEG.
Only the paint colors etc.

Many thanks for your speedy reply!
yes i must offer my apology. i didnt realise that paint only saves in bmp.:eek: :eek:

. try a free program like faststone image viewer.. easy to use

http://www.faststone.org/ max viwer and image resizer are very good as well and the capture program allows you to easily capture screenshots
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
109
Paint only saves as bmp?
You can change the "Save As Type" in paint, can't you? Or is it an older version of paint?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top