1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bitmap * Jpeg

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cwc000, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cwc000

    cwc000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    I have several scanned photos that are Bitmap Image. Is there a way I can
    change these photos to JPEG?
    Thanks for your help!!
     
  2. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,642
    yes right click and choose open with paint and then save as jpeg
     
  3. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  4. cwc000

    cwc000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    I followed your instructions but I didn't get the option of choosing JPEG.
    Only the paint colors etc.

    Many thanks for your speedy reply!
     
  5. cwc000

    cwc000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Thanks Bonk,

    I perused both links. I am a novice and don't know the language. I am just
    going to delete the two photos since they take up too much disk space.

    Thanks, this website is really fantastic!!
     
  6. Drako

    Drako

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    just type .jpeg after the name. this only works with simple programs like paint tho.
     
  7. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    If you want to preserve quality, don't just rename the extension. This can cause the picture to lose quality or not even open.

    Open the picture files with one of the image software programs that have been listed and go to File, "Save As"
    When the box comes up asking where you want to save it, under the File Name you can change the Save as type.
     
  8. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,642
    yes i must offer my apology. i didnt realise that paint only saves in bmp.:eek: :eek:

    . try a free program like faststone image viewer.. easy to use

    http://www.faststone.org/ max viwer and image resizer are very good as well and the capture program allows you to easily capture screenshots
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Easy mistake Blackmirror
     
  10. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,642
    Yes i dont mind admitting when i am wrong..:D
     
  11. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Paint only saves as bmp?
    You can change the "Save As Type" in paint, can't you? Or is it an older version of paint?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536295

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice