1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Black Screen" after inhstalling SP1, a new graphics card, and power supply

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by shadedgrey63, Mar 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shadedgrey63

    shadedgrey63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8151 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 SE, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 941857 MB, Free - 735159 MB; D: Total - 11908 MB, Free - 1451 MB;
    Motherboard: MSI, 2A9C, 1.0,
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated and Enabled

    This has happened 3 times - once while I was only watching a video online, ahnd twice when I'd play The Sims 3. The screen goes back, and it just restarts. When the computer would restart, I'd receive the "unexpected shutdown" error, but the computer will run smoothly until I do something that wills trigger it to happen again. I have two of the error logs:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 116
    BCP1: FFFFFA8007A944E0
    BCP2: FFFFF8800FE0423C
    BCP3: FFFFFFFFC000009A
    BCP4: 0000000000000004
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\031211-45443-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Kate\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-77329-0.sysdata.xml

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 116
    BCP1: FFFFFA800DDDB0B0
    BCP2: FFFFF8800FE9723C
    BCP3: FFFFFFFFC000009A
    BCP4: 0000000000000004
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\031211-59108-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Kate\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-92882-0.sysdata.xml


    As I recently installed three notable things, I'm not sure exactly which is the problem, but I assume the graphics because in Action Center, these events are listed under "Address a problem with NVIDIA Graphics Driver", where it had apparently stopped working.

    Please help me out! :)
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,480
    First Name:
    Mike
    You might try and uninstall those three notable things, and then reinstall one at a time to isolate this..
     
  3. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,480
    First Name:
    Mike
    Do you know how to do a system restore? To a time before you updated the drivers?
     
  4. shadedgrey63

    shadedgrey63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    I would remove and reinstall them, but it would be a huge pain, and I'm pretty positive it's something to do with my graphics anyway.

    Yes, I do, but I don't know if restore points are still there from erlier in the week, and besides, it rarely works when I try it.
     
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,697
    First Name:
    Allan
  6. shadedgrey63

    shadedgrey63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Now that one I'm sure I'll be able to manage easily. :) I mean, I'll do the others if I have to, but those will take time. I hope rolling back works. You mean the graphics driver, right?
     
  7. shadedgrey63

    shadedgrey63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Okay, I rolled back the graphics driver (to none - as I had just installed the card this week), but didn't want to run the game with NO driver, as it's a pretty hefty game, so I then updated it. And the exact same thing happened. :(
     
  8. johnebadbak

    johnebadbak

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,731
    check for driver address, "conflict" check the graphics IRQ settings in "resources"
     
  9. shadedgrey63

    shadedgrey63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    I think I figured out the problem. Some wires with my new power supply were interfering with the card's fan, which in turn made the card overheat. I tied the wires back, and I've been running the game for two hours, playing it for about one - so I think I can safely say the problem has been corrected. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/985632

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice