Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Black Screen after playing 5-10 mins of Steam Games

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  schang626 
#1 ·
Ok heres the deal,

Last weekend, I joyfully bought my 1st ever 2 STEAM games. God I hate this thing. Now after installing both Aliens vs Predator and Empire Total War. Now not only am I pissed but I can't wait to give them hell after my online account is verified so I can post in the forums but meanwhile maybe you guys can help me.

Ok this is the problem I have faced ONLY with steam games. All my other games including Batman Arkham Asylum/Pro Evolution Soccer 2009/IL2 1946/Neverwinter Nights/Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion/GTR2/ They all work fine no glitches at all. I am a Intermediate PC Tech myself so I tried looking for similar issues with people and I downgraded and upgraded my drivers for my video card but still the same issue:

I play for about 5-10 mins of either my 2 new games Empire and AvP, then bingo my monitor cuts out and I am reduced to a black screen and I can hear the game music and its obviously working.

What I have tried:

1. Tried setting audio performance level to Basic. This was suggested in a similar thread to my problem. I went to Control Panel > Sound Audio -> Volume Tab -> Advanced -> Let first bar to one from the far left

2. Went into steam and tried to right click on games --> Properties -> Local FIles Tab -->Verify game cache. Again some guy said this worked for him. Hs not for me.

3. I have ati Radeon X1900XTX 512mb Vid card. I tried to update drivers to 10.2. Then heard there was problems with it. Downgraded to 9.12. That didn't work. Then I heard 10.3 was better for STEAM games and this issue so today I have tried 10.3. I will post after this as I did it just before so I will know if it works or not.