1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Black screen blinking cursor Windows won't load

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chokfi, Apr 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chokfi

chokfi Thread Starter

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I've noticed that many people appear to have had the same problem, but when I read the responses, I can't seem to find one that fits mine in particular (perhaps I just don't understand how to implement them).

When I hit the startup button, I get the IBM thinkpad logo and "to interrupt normal startup, press the blue access IBM button" and then the screen goes black with a blinking cursor on the top left hand corner and Windows won't load. Out of frustration, I tried re-arranging the boot priority order and network boot priority order but returned them to the default settings because I'm not technically proficient.

I also tried following the instructions for getting into safe mode (from the microsoft site) but hitting F8 doesn't work.

This problem may be virus related because I got an avast warning yesterday that it detected a windows32 malware and moved it to the chest. I declined the option to restart at the time - I was working on some stuff - later, I inadvertantly put it on standby without scheduling a boot scan on startup. Anyway, next time I tried to boot up I started having this problem.

I did have the windows security 2011 virus two weeks ago and managed to remove it but I don't know if this is related.

My laptop's a Thinkpad T42 Type 2373 with Windows XP professional (no disc, it was loaded for me - I have the product key).

Appreciate any assistance in resolving this. Thanks.

2. SUEOHIO

SUEOHIO

First Name:
    SUE