Black screen during Windows 10 reset

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
Hey guys!

I have an MSI GL62 7RD laptop with Windows 10 that I bought back in December. Earlier today, the touchpad suddenly stopped working. A short while after that, the keyboard failed. Luckily, it still recognized my USB mouse, so after googling the problem for a while, I decided to "reset to factory settings" instead of opening it up and fiddling with the keyboard and mouse connectors.
Just as it was shutting down it flashed a bluescreen. All I could read in the time it flashed was that it encountered something, but was gonna take care of it on its own and restart. Didn't think much of it (maybe it's a part of the reset)... It shut off and then rebooted, and has been stuck with a black screen and the fans at a medium speed (like it's powering on but stuck with something) for about four hours.

I'm all out of ideas, and I'm scared to mess it up more than it already is.
Please help me!




Right before it all started I was:
Playing BeamNG.
Downloading BeamNG mods.
Plugging in an Xbox One controller which the computer downloaded drivers for.

Since the touchpad/keyboard failure and black screen I have:
Tried to force a reboot once. Nothing changed.

Edit: English is not my first language so if there are any terms or expressions that are wrong here, please excuse me, and I will try to clarify them for anyone who asks.

Edit 2: The reboot thing might be more of a software than hardware problem, but it all started with the hardware :cautious:
 
Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
My guess at this stage is
Downloading BeamNG mods
such downloads are often the cause of problems, especially if they are not from the recognised site OR one of the Beta Mods

Does the black screen display a cursor or is it a blank totally black screen
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
My guess at this stage is


such downloads are often the cause of problems, especially if they are not from the recognised site OR one of the Beta Mods

Does the black screen display a cursor or is it a blank totally black screen

They were all from the official Beam forum, but yeah, you're probably right.

The screen is totally blank and totally black. Tried hooking it up to my TV via HDMI, but nothing there either.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
When it first powers on do you see any screen before the black screen
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
No, nothing...
Don't know if it's worth mentioning, but the only button that does anything besides the power switch is a fan boost button. I'm guessing that means it's at least loading some drivers. The laser on my USB mouse lights up as well. :confused:
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
Does that MSI laptop have a removable battery
If so shut down, disconnect power
remove battery
hold down power button for 20 seconds
reconnect battery
reconnect mains power
power on button
try again see if result is any different
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587

    • Battery Reset Hole
Whenever the system firmware (EC) is upgraded or the system hangs, please 1) power off the notebook; 2) remove the AC power; 3) use a straightened paperclip to insert this hole for 10 sec; 4) connect the AC power; 5) power on the notebook.

Try this please
refer to manual for battery reset hole
Page 2-11 of your manual
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
Okay. I did it and powered it on. The screen is still black, but the fans are only barely running so at least it's not working as hard as it was before.
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
Tried again to connect it to my tv via HDMI as well. It doesn't output.
 
Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
If you have anything connected - Xbox controller
or indeed usb mouse
Disconnect them and any other external hardware
Repeat as post 8
and report result please

If still no good
and you wish to continue to try and fix yourself then I will be back online about 1100 hrs UK time when if you are available we can continue
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
Already tried this a couple of times. Still no result.
I should go to bed now as well, so let's talk more tomorrow.

And thank you very much for your help so far :)
 

Msiguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
18
No difference with ctrl+alt+del. I don't have access to any other computers at this time, but I'll try get it done tomorrow. Any other suggestions in the meantime?

I read that other people have had similar issues causes by corrupted/not properly seated RAM. Could that be the case here? It would at least explain the bluescreen I got.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
There could be many causes but to take the one you mention ram does not come unseated unless the laptop has had a considerable jolt and for that to unseat ram, you can be assured that it would be such a jolt as to very likely cause other problems. The blue screen is far more likely to be a driver issue.

What I would advise is that you do NOT start exploring such issues as unseated ram on a laptop that is approx. 6 months old
At the present time if the worse case scenario requires you submit under warranty for the problem you stand an excellent chance of it being fixed free
Start messing around undoing parts and you stand a fair chance of warranty work being refused and the subsequent charges

If I am correct you laptop has no access hatch on the underside for the ram or indeed fro any other component. The whole underside case has to be removed after all screws removed. It is then held by clips and requires separation from the topside - keyboard etc.
Please take my advice - leave it alone
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top