1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Black Screen Of Death!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Hillian, Dec 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    This is not on my pc directly but it is on my uncle's laptop. He starts the computer and windows loads but right as soon as the window loading screen goes away the screen is all black its as if there is no video card enabled. we have also tried plugging in his monitor from his desktop since he has a laptop connector that allows you to hook a monitor up and display whatever is on the labtop. You can't navigate anything or anything liek that. Any Suggestions? :p
     
  2. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    can you press F8 3/4 times as soon as you start the computer to get to the boot menu
    those anything come up ? if so click Last Known Good Configuration
     
  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    if that does'nt work see what you get when you select vga mode
     
  4. eskimo_socks

    eskimo_socks

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I've had this happen a few times in 2000 when changing monitors (groan) and graphics drivers. You prolly need to start in VGA mode as described before, uninstall the video drivers, reinstall and restart.
     
  5. eskimo_socks

    eskimo_socks

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I've had this happen a few times in 2000 when changing monitors (groan) and graphics drivers. You prolly need to start in VGA mode as described before, uninstall the video drivers, reinstall and restart.
     
  6. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    he has windows xp home edition and its on a labtop the pc maker is Averatec and we tried contacting therm via there toll free number but no luck yetand when i press F8 nuttin happens i have tried to start it in safe mode and it just freezes and then i try to start in in the last good known configuration and they dont work either(it loads the windows screen and then goes black like its been doing)anymore suggestions?
     
  7. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    how would i go about startting in VGA mode its not an option in the setup(boot options) and not a option in the safe nmode area either
     
  8. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    to start on VGA mode on safe mode or normal mode click on start run type msconfig click on the boot.ini tab then check the box for /BASEVIDEO un check the box when you done
     
  9. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    thats the problem my friend...i cant see my desktop the screen is black....it shows the windows loading screen but then it goes black.....
     
  10. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    but if you cant login to safe mode this is not goin to work do you have your windows xp cd not the restore cd that some pc come with ?
     
  11. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    he says his restore disc is at school hes home for another 2 weeks from college
     
  12. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    do you have another computer in the house ?
     
  13. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    he does have a desktop....why do you ask?
     
  14. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    well you can take out the drive on the damage computer and set the jumper to slave and put it on the good computer and run some virus scan on the damage computer drive
     
  15. Hillian

    Hillian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    but ones a labtop(the problem) and he dotn have another labtop or anything
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/311662

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice