1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Black screen when turning computer on

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by jslesh3, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jslesh3

    jslesh3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Yesterday my computer shut down and now when I try to restart it, it's stuck at a black screen. I went into Boot Options and then Diagnostics, and the error code 2000-0146 came up. I have no clue what I'm supposed to do now. Help please!

    edit: i dont know if this is the right place to post so i posted in hardware too. if i get a response here i'll delete the other one
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hi and welcome

    Is it a Dell?
     
  3. jslesh3

    jslesh3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah i put all the specs in when i joined but here they are

    Dell Studio XPS 1640, Intel Core 2 Duo T9550(2.66 GHz/1066 Mhz FSB/6M L2 Cache)
    4GB, DDR3, 1067 MHz 2 Dimm for XPS 1640
    ATI Mobility RADEON HD 3670 - 512MB
    500GB 7200RPM Free Fall Sensor Seagate Hard Drive
    Microsoft Windows Vista with SP1 Home Premium Edition 64-bit Edition
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    That error usually indicates that the Disk Self Test contained errors. This sounds like an issue with the hard drive.

    I would boot into the BIOS first and make sure its reading the drive properly. Otherwise, it may need to be replaced.
     
  5. jslesh3

    jslesh3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    How would I go about doing that:eek:
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    It usually tells you when you first turn on the computer.

    Sometimes you will see something like "Press F2 for Setup" or "Press Del for Setup"
     
  7. jslesh3

    jslesh3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Under Main it says BIOS Version A05 but it wont let me select it. What changes if any should I make?
     
  8. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    I just wanna make sure it's actually seeing the hard drive.
     
  9. jslesh3

    jslesh3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    So you think it needs to be replaced?
     
  10. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    It is possible. Do you have your Windows disc? You can use it to check the HD for problems and it may be able to repair them.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Black screen turning
  1. Glacina
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    982
  2. ShaunG76
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    978
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918764

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice