Black screen with cursor after log in

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bowzr

Just recenetly upgraded my graphics from nvidia 750ti to a 1080 and so far I've only been having problems with it, my fps has been incredibly low on most games like overwatch rust borderlands. I've experienced stuttering sounds and very slow performance when updating a game. I have a power supply I'm going to have installed a corsair rmx 750 I've been told by several posters that my supply isn't very good at all. But recently I encountered a blue screen error, "nvlddmkm.sys" and now after starting up I get my normal log in screen asking for my password everything seems normal. After typing in my password and logging in I get a black screen with my cursor and I'm able to open task manager but nothing else seems to work I have no background or icons just my cursor and task manager. Anyone know what could of happened? Any advice is appreciated.

Specs: Intel Core i7 6700
ASUSTeK Computer INC Z170 PRO Gaming
16GB DDR
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080
APEVIA ATX-BT700W 700W ATX12V SLI CrossFire Power Supply

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Yea, your power supply is absolute garbage. (Sorry, don't mean to be harsh)

Imo, I wouldn't even run the 1080 UNTIL you buy a new PSU. Fwiw, the RMx is one of the BEST power supplies you can get, at least imho.

First things first, dies the issue still occur when you put the 750 gpu back in ?

Bowzr